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Travis Drebing has been hired as the new Pharmacy
Inspector. Travis brings with him 8 years experience as a
Pharmacy Technician.

Three Pharmacy Investigators will be attending the Utah
Pharmacy Convention in St George. They will be manning
and booth for questions and answers. They will also have
information regarding the new Pharmacy Laws passed during
the Legislative Session.

Pharmacy Investigators have written their first article for the
Board of Pharmacy Newsletter. They will be submitting
articles quarterly to the Newsletter.

Investigator Lynn Hooper conducted an investigation
regarding a Pharmacy Technician who was stealing and
diverting Controlled Substances from two pharmacies. The
investigation resulted in the individual surrendering his
license to the Division.
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Pharmacy Board Report
February 2014

Respondent was issued a Citation and fine for
practicing/engaging in an occupation requiring licensure, and
selling, dispensing, distributing or otherwise trafficking
prescription drugs while not licensed or exempt. Citation was
upheld and Respondent was fined $500.

Respondent was issued a Citation for abandoning a Pharmacy
or leaving prescription drugs accessible to the Public. Citation
was upheld and Respondent was fined $500.

Respondent was issued a Citation for having fourteen oudated
drugs on their shelf, no Power of Attorney, inconsistent
temperature logs, and controlied substance invoices were not
initialed or dated. Respondent also acts as a "middle man" for
a mail order pharmacy. They store medications until patients
can pick them up. The Citation was upheld and Respondent
was fined $900, which has been paid in full.
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2014 Utah General Legislative Session

It was a busy legislative session as the Utah State Legislature
passed several bills that impact pharmacy practice. A summary of
bills impacting pharmacy practice is provided in the paragraphs
below. You may access a full copy of individual bills at www
de.utah.gov. The effective dates for these bills are contingent
upon Governor Gary Herbert’s right to veto. Some amendments

require drafting of administrative rules to be adopted by the Utah
Department of Commerce.

HB 114: Mail-Order Wholesale Drug Amendments, Utah is
the 48" state to require pharmacy licensure for nonresident phar-
macies that engage in the manufacture, production, wholesale, or
distribution of drugs. In the past, mail-order pharmacies mailing
directly to patients were the only pharmacies located outside Utah
that were required to have Utah licenses. Effective July 1,2014.

SB 55: Pharmaceutical Dispensing Amendments

¢+ Drug Sales Between Pharmacies. A pharmacy in Utah
not licensed specifically as a pharmaceutical wholesaler
or distributor may sell drugs to other pharmacies if their
total distribution-related sales of prescription drugs do not
exceed 5% of the facility’s total prescription drug sales.
Effective July 1, 2014,

¢ Hoespital Pharmacy Dispensing of Multidose Drugs to
Discharged Patients. A hospital pharmacy may dispense
a prescription drug in a multidose container to a hospital
patient being discharged if labeling requirements outlined
in the bill are met. Effective July 1, 2014.

+ License Classification for Dispensing Medical Prac-
titioners and Clinics. A new license classification titled
“dispensing medical practitioner’” was created for medical
practitioners who prescribe and dispense certain drugs. A
pharmacy facility license classification titled “dispensing
medical practitioner clinic pharmacy” was created for clin-
ics that dispense certain drugs in limited settings. Creating
these licenses required removal of the license exemption of
medical practitioners and clinics for medical practitioners
who prescribe and dispense a cosmetic drug, injectable
weight loss drug, or a cancer drug treatment regimen. A
medical dispensing practitioner’s ability to dispense is
limited to a cosmetic drug, a cancer drug treatment regimen,
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or a prepackaged drug at an employer-sponsored clinic, It
establishes that practice as a dispensing medical practitioner
does not include the use of a vending-type dispensing device
or the dispensing of controlled substances (CS), except for
the dispensing of Schedule TV and V CS as permitted for
cancer drug treatment regimens. Effective July 1, 2014,

¢ Clarification of Acceptable Methods of Drug Delivery.
A pharmacy may only deliver a prescription drug to a
patient or patient’s agent in person at the pharmacy. It
may also deliver a prescription drug via the United States
Postal Service, a licensed common carrier, or supportive
personnel, if the pharmacy takes reasonable precautions to
ensure the prescription drug is (1)} delivered to the patient
or patient’s agent or (2) returned to the pharmacy. Effec-
tive July 1, 2014.

¢ Clarification of Patient Counseling Standards. Patient
counseling standards were clarified to address misunder-
standings caused by prior statutory language. Effective
July 1, 2014.

SB 77: Pharmacy Practice Act Amendments

¢ Creation of Pharmacy Technician Trainee License.
Before working in a pharmacy, a pharmacy technician-in-
training is now required to obtain a “pharmacy technician
trainee” license from the Utah Division of Occupational
and Professional Licensing (Division). To apply for a phar-
macy technician trainee license, individuals must submit
a license application to the Division including a criminal
background check and the name of their training program.
Effective July 1, 2014,

¢ Pharmacy Selling of Drugs to Practitioners for Office
Use. Pharmacies may repackage or compound a prescrip-
tion drug for sale to a practitioner under circumstances
outlined in the bill. Effective July 1, 2014.

SB 78: Prescription Eye Drop Guidelines. A pharmacist
or pharmacy intern may dispense a refill of a prescription for a
liquid legend drug administered to the eye once an amount of
time has passed after which a patient should have used 70% of
the dosage units of the drug according to a practitioner’s instruc-
tions. Effective May 13, 2014.

continued on page 4
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2014 Utah General Legislative Session

It was a busy legislative session as the Utah Legislature passed several bills that impact pharmacy
practice. A summary of bills impacting pharmacy practice is provided in the paragraphs below.
You may access a full copy individual bills at www.le.utah.gov. The effective dates for these
bills are contingent upon Governor Herbert's right to veto. Some amendments require drafting of
administrative rules to be adopted by the Department.

H.B. 114: Mail-Order Wholesale Drug Amendments. Utah is the 48th state to require
pharmacy licensure for non-resident pharmacies that engage in the manufacture, production,
wholesale, or distribution of drugs. In the past, mail order pharmacies mailing directly to patients
were the only pharmacies located outside Utah that were required to have Utah licenses.
Effective July 1, 2014.

@ S.B. 55: Pharmaceutical Dispensing Amendments

¢ Drug Sales Between Pharmacies. A pharmacy in Utah not licensed specifically as a
pharmaceutical wholesaler or distributor may sell drugs to other pharmacies if their total
distribution-related sales of prescription drugs does not exceed 5% of the facility's total
prescription drug sales. Effective July I, 2014.

¢ Hospital Pharmacy Dispensing of Multi-Dose Drugs to Discharged Patients. A
hospital pharmacy may dispense a prescription drug in a multi-dose container to a
hospital patient being discharged if labeling requirements outlined in the bill are met.
Effective July 1, 2014.

@ e License Classification for Dispensing Medical Practitioners and Clinics. A new
license classification titled "dispensing medical practitioner" was created for medical
practitioners who prescribe and dispense certain drugs. A pharmacy facility license
classification titled "dispensing medical practitioner clinic pharmacy" was created for
clinics that dispense certain drugs in limited settings. Creating these licenses required
removal of the license exemption of medical practitioners and clinics for medical
practitioners who prescribe and dispense a cosmetic drug, injectable weight loss drug, or
a cancer drug treatment regimen. A medical dispensing practitioner's ability to dispense
is limited to a cosmetic drug, a cancer drug treatment regimen, or a prepackaged drug at
an employer sponsored clinic. [t establishes that practice as a dispensing medical
practitioner does not include the use of a vending-type dispensing device or the
dispensing of controlled substances, except for the dispensing of schedule IV and V
controlled substances as permitted for cancer drug treatment regimens. Effective July I,
2014.

¢ Clarification of Acceptable Methods of Drug Delivery. A pharmacy may only deliver
a prescription drug to a patient or patient's agent in person at the pharmacy. It may also
deliver a prescription drug via the United States Postal Service, a licensed common
carrier, or supportive personnel, if the pharmacy takes reasonable precautions to ensure
the prescription drug is: (1) delivered to the patient or patient's agent; or (2) returned to
the pharmacy. Effective July 1, 2014.

o Clarification of Patient Counseling Standards. Patient counseling standards were
clarified to address misunderstandings caused by prior statutory language. Effective
July 1, 2014.
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before March 31, 2014 will continue to meet the program requirement until January 1, 2016.
Beginning January 2, 2016, all programs must be accredited by ASHSP or conducted by NPTA.
Effective December 23, 2013.

Pharmacies Required to Comply with USP-NF Chapter 17 Labeling Standards. Under rule
amendments to Utah Admin. Code R156-17b-402 (24), it is unprofessional conduct for a
pharmacy or pharmacist to fail to comply with prescription container label standards established
in USP-NF Chapter 17. Most pharmacies and pharmacists currently comply with these standards;
however, those who currently do not have until November 30, 2014 to comply. Effective
December 23, 2013.

Division Pharmacy Investigation Report. The Division completed the 2013 self-inspection
audit and is pleased that most pharmacies responded. The Division sent out 480 self-inspection
audits. In response to the audits, the Division issued approximately 40 letters of concern and two
citations. The Division appreciates the diligent efforts of Utah pharmacies to maintain
compliance with required standards. Laws outlining the Division's authority to conduct pharmacy
investigations include the following:

Utah Code 58-17b-103. Administrative Inspections.

(1) The division may for the purpose of ascertaining compliance with the provisions of this
chapter, require a self-audit or enter and inspect the business premises of a person:

(a) licensed under Part 3, Licensing: or

(b) who is engaged in activities that require a license under Part 3, licensing,

This section grants the Division two options for completing administrative inspections: a self-
audit completed by the pharmacy or a Division inspection of the facility. When a self-inspection
audit is needed, information is sent via email to pharmacies, along with any other information that
the Division deems important. This includes various types of pharmacy alerts such as wamings
about persons suspected of doctor shopping. Under Utah Code 58-17b-502, the following
qualifies as unprofessional conduct for a pharmacy: failing to return or providing false
information on a self inspection report; failing to provide PIC information to the Division within
30 days of a change in PIC; and failing to update the Division within seven calendar days of any
change in the email address designated for use in self-audits or pharmacy alerts. If you have any
questions or input regarding pharmacy investigations, please contact the Division Bureau of
Investigations at doplinvestigations@utah.gov or (801) 530-6326.

Upcoming Board Meetings. Upcoming meetings of the Utah Board of Pharmacy are scheduled
for April 22, May 27, June 24, and July 22. Most meetings are held in Room 474 on the fourth
floor of the Heber M. Wells Building located at 160 East 300 South in Salt Lake City, UT.
Meetings typically begin at 8:30 A.M.

Contact Information

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Phone: (801) 530-6326

Fax: (801) 530-6301

Email: doplinvestigations@utah.gov

Website: http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/pharmacy.html
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