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Utah Construction Services Commission
Subject: DOPL Response to Incidental Plumbing Rule

Dear Commissioners,

Earlier this year you considered a rule to modify the definition of “minor plumbing work that is
incidental to the replacement or repair of a fixture or an appliance in a residential or small
commercial building.” After su,mhcant discussion by the Commission. DOPL, and industry
members in more than one commission meeting, you determined to advance a scaled back
version of the rule. It eliminated the proposed reduction in project value (from $300 to $100) and
instead advanced a limitation on any minor plumbing work that is incidental if the work requires
a building permit. | participated in the discussion and v1cwed the proposal as a good
compromise.

After your recommendation, 1 have spent the past few months considering the rule change. New
1ssues have come to my mind or have been shared by my staff as we have discussed the rule..]
believe Utah is best served by leaving the rule as it is. However, if the Commission desires to
modify the rule, I would be happy to diScuss myrconcerns below in a future meeting:

Incidental Plumbing Rule is Only Five Years Old. The Commission and Division adopted an
extensive change to the minor plumbing work rule in 2011. The rule was negotiated over
numerous meetings between the Commission and Plumber Licensing Board, as the Commission
was concerned about the extent of the Board’s recommendation. The two most important policies
adopted by the Commission and DOPL in the rule were to exclude water heaters and limit the
size of projects to $300. Since the rule was adopted, not much has changed, except the value of
$300in 2011 is now $280. (Reduced value of $300 because of CPI increases) I haven’t seen
enough reason to further restrict the exemption created by the Legislature.

Careful Consideration of Licensing Laws. Licensing laws are under intense scrutiny now,
especially in light of the US Supreme Court case North Carolina Board of Dental Examiners v
FTC and President Obama’s White House Report, “Occupational Licensing: A Framework for
Policymakers.” Public scrutiny on licensing has appropriately increased as states are considering
new licensing regulations. This proposed change appears to me to be an instance when the cost
to the public appears more clearly than the benefit.

Proposal Appears to Contradict the Statute. The statutory language at question exempts from
plumbing licensure “minor plumbing work that is incidental to the replacement or repair of a
fixture or an appliance in a residential or small commercial building.” The proposed rule then
states that the exemption does not include “work to repair or replace plumbing appliances,
appurtenances, fixtures and systems which require a building permit.” In other words, the
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statutory-exemption-allows minor plumbing work when fixing or replacing a fixture-or appliance. -
Then the rule limits the fixtures and appliances that are included. 1 believe the proposed rule may
contradict both the plain language and the intent of the Legislature.

Jurisdictional Diffcrences —~ Impact on Plumbing Contractors. Evidence was provided by
plumbers in the Commission meetings that some jurisdictions “laugh” at you when you try to
obtain a building permit for certain projects that currently require a building permit under the
Plumbing Code. The statement was made to explain why the permitting process wasn’t enough
oversight for incidental, minor plumbing work by unlicensed individuals. However, the flip side
of that argument is that licensed plumbers and unlicensed plumbers are both failing to obtain
permits on projects that require permits under the Code.

DOPL should not become the quasi-local government agency to enforce building permit
standards. If local jurisdictions are not adequately enforcing permitting laws, per the discussion
above, DOPL’s ability to determine those who should and should not have a license will be very
difficulit.

For the reasons above, | choose to not concur with the proposed amendments to the
administrative rules governing minor plumbmg work. However, if the Commission still desires

“ T oamodify ggruleafter reviewing my concertis; I would be happy tor dlSCUSS m), ‘conGerns and-the ——

rule further in another meeting.

Sincerely

Mark Steinagel
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R156-55¢-102. Definitions.

In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 55, as used in Title 58,
Chapters 1 and 55 or this rule:

(1) "Immediate supervision", as used in Subsections 58-55-102(5) and 58-55-102(23)
and this rule, means the apprentice and the supervising plumber are physically present on
the same project or job site but are not required to be within sight of one another.

(2) "Minor plumbing work that is incidental", as used in Subsection 58-55-
305(1) (k) (i) and this rule, means:

(a) repair or replacement of the following residential type Plumbing [a]Appliances:
(1) dishwashers;

(ii) refrigerators;

(iii) freezers;

(iv) ice makers;

(v) stoves;

(vi) ranges;

(vii) clothes washers; and

(viii) clothes dryers; and

(b) repair or replacement of other plumbing fixtures and appliances inside the
occupied space of a structure, when the cost of the repair or replacement does not exceed
$300 in total value, including all labor and materials, and including all changes or
additions to the contracted or agreed upon work.

(3) "Minor plumbing work that is incidental", as used in Subsection 58-55-
305(1) (k) (1), does not include installation or replacement of a water heater, or work to
repair or replace Plumbing Appliances, Appurtenances, Fixtures and Systems which requires
a building permit.’ ' =X
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(4) The term Plumbing Appliances, Appurtenances, Fixtures, and Systems, as used in
this rule, shall have the same meaning as defined by Title 15A, State Construction and
Fire Codes Act.

(5) [44)] "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 55, is
further defined in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1) (e), in Subsection R156-55c-501.




Plumber Handyman
K/S or lav P-trap replace plastic* Yes Yes
K/S Lav faucet rebuild basic Yes Yes
K/S Lav faucet rebuild prémium Yes Yes
Toilet repair Yes Yes
Tub/Shower trim replacement Yes Yes
Toilet flush valve repair/replace Yes Yes
Lav faucet install Yes Yes
K/S faucet install Yes Yes
Dishwasher repair/replace Yes Yes
Refrigerator repair/replace Yes. Yes
Freezer repair/replace Yes Yes
Ice maker repair/replace Yes Yes
Electric Stoves repair/replace Yes Yes
Electric Ranges repair/replace Yes Yes
Electric Clothes dryer repair/replace Yes Yes
Clothes washer repair/replace Yes Yes
Supply line replacement* Yes No
Toilet remove and reset Yes Yes
Water line repair Plastic* Yes No
Water service valve install Yes No
Angle stop and supply replacement* Yes No
Water line repair - Copper* Yes No -
Shower/tub drain replacement* Yes No
Sewer line repair - Plastic Yes No
Freeze proof HB install Yes No
Pressure reducing valve install/replace* Yes No
Washing machine drain replacement Yes No
Tub waste and overflow* Yes No
Sewer line repair - Cast iron* Yes No
Toilet install " Yes No
Garbage disposal install Yes No
Garbage disposal replace Yes Yes
Tub/shower valve install Yes No
Tub/shower valve replace Yes Yes
RO unit install Yes No
Tub install Yes No
Gas Stoves repair/replace*** Yes No
Gas Ranges repair/replace*** Yes No
Gas clothes dryer repair/replace*** Yes No
Water softener install* Yes** No

*Currently prohibited because it is a

water heater, fixture or appliance

** alternative license related to specialty water softener installers

*** also aliow for alternative certification through Rocky Mountain Gas Institute




R156-55a2-302f. Pre-licensure Education - Standards.

(1)

2

3)

R (4) S

Qualifier Education Requirement. The 20-hour pre-licensure education program
required by Subsection 58-55-302(1)(e)(iii) shall be completed by the qualifier for
a contractor applicant.
Program Pre-Approval. A pre-licensure education provider shall submit an
application for approval as a provider on the form provided by the Division. The
applicant shall demonstrate compliafice with Section R156-55a-302f.
Eligible Providers. The following may be approved to provide pre-licensure
education:
(a) a nationally or regionally recognized accredited college or university
having a physical campus located within the State of Utah; or
(b) a non-profit Utah construction trades association involved in the
construction trades in the State of Utah:
(i) representing multiple construction trade classifications;
(i)  with membership of:
(A) atleast 250 contractors licensed in Utah; or
(B)  less than 250 members, if the association is:
O competent, as determined by the Commission and
the Director according to their sole discretion; and
(II)  compliant with all other standards of this rule; and
(iii)  having five years of experience providing education to contractors
in Utah.
Content. The 20-hour program shall include the following topics and:heurs of
education relevant to the practice of the construction trades consistent with the
laws and rules of this state:
(a) ten hours of financial responsibility instruction that includes the following:
(1) record keeping and financial statements;
(i1) payroll, including:
(A)  payroll taxes;
(B)  worker compensation insurance requirements;
(C)  unemployment insurance requirements;
(D)  professional employer organization (employee leasing)
alternatives;
(E)  prohibitions regarding paying employees on 1099 forms as
independent contractors, unless licensed or exempted;
(F) employee benefits; and
(G)  Fair Labor Standard Act;
(iii)  cash flow;
(iv)  insurance requirements including auto, liability, and health; and
(v) independent contractor licensure and exemption requirements;
(b) six hours of construction business practices that includes the following:
(1) estimating and bidding;
(1) contracts;
(il1)  project management;
(iv)  subcontractors; and
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(c)

(d)

(v) suppliers; »

two hours of regulatory requirements that includes the following:
(1) licensing laws;

(i) Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA);
(iii)  Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); and

(iv)  consumer protection laws; and

two hours of mechanic lien fundamentals that include the State
Construction Registry.

Program Schedule.

(a)
(b)

A pre-licensure education provider shall offer programs at least 12 times
per year.

The pre-licensure education provider is not obligated to provide a course if
the provider determines the enrollment is not sufficient to reach breakeven
on cost.

Program Instruction Requirements: The pre-licensure education shall meet the
following standards:

(a)

(b)
(c)

(d
(e)
®

(2)

(h)

Time. Each hour of pre-licensure education credit shall consist of 60
minutes of education in the form of live lectures or training sessions.
Time allowed for lunches or breaks may not be counted as part of the
education time for which education credit is issued.
Learning Objectives. The learning objectives of the pre-licensure
education shall be reasonably and clearly stated.
Teaching Methods. The pre-licensure education shall be presented in a
competent and well organized manner consistent with the stated purpose
and objective of the program. The student must demonstrate knowledge
of the course material and must be given a pass/fail grade.
Faculty. The pre-licensure education shall be prepared and presented by
individuals who are qualified by education, training or experience.
Distance Learning. Distance learning, internet courses, and home study
courses are not allowed to meet pre-licensure education requirements.
Registration and Attendance. The provider shall have a competent method
of registration and verification of attendance of individuals who complete
the pre-licensure education. 1
Education Curriculum and Study/Resource Guide. The provider shall be
responsible to provide or develop pre-licensure education curriculum and
study/resource guide for the pre-licensure education that must be pre-
approved by the Commission and the Division prior to use by the
provider.
Live Broadcast. The pre-licensure education course may be taught by live
broadcast if:
(1) the student and the instructor are able to see and hear each other;
and
(11) a representative of the provider is at any remote location to
monitor registration and attendance at the course.
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(12)

Certificates of Completion: The pre-licensure education provider shall provide

individuals completing the pre-licensure education a certificate that contains the

following information: _

(a) the date of the pre-licensure education;

(b) the name of the pre-licensure education provider;

(c) the attendee's name;

(d) verification of completion of the 20-hour requirement; and

(e) the signature of the pre-licensure education provider.

Reporting of Program Completion. A pre-licensure education provider shall,

within seven calendar days, submit directly to the Division verification of

attendance and completion on behalf of persons attending and completing the

program. This verification shall be submitted on forms provided by the Division.

Program Monitoring. On a random basis, the Division or Commission may assign

monitors at no charge to attend a pre-licensure education course for the purpose of

evaluating the education and the instructor(s).

Documentation Retention. Each provider shall for a period of four years maintain

adequate documentation as proof of compliance with this section and shall, upon

request, make such documentation available for review by the Division or the

Commission. Documentation shall include:

(a) the dates of all pre-licensure education courses that have been completed,;

(b) registration and attendance logs of individuals who completed the pre-
licensure education;

(c) the name of instructors for each education course provided as a part of the
program; and L e

(d) pre-licensﬁre education handouts and materials.

Disciplinary Proc‘eedings. As provided in Section 58-1-401 and Subsection 58-

55-302(1)(e)(iii), the Division may refuse to renew or may revoke, suspend,

restrict, place on probation, issue a public reprimand to, or otherwise act upon the

approval of any pre-licensure education provider, if the pre-licensure education

provider fails to meet any of the requirements of this section or the provider has

engaged in other unlawful or unprofessional conduct.

Exemptions. In accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(1)(e)(iii), the following

persons are not required to complete the pre-licensure education program

requirements: '

(a) a person holding a four-year bachelor degree or a two-year associate
degree in Construction Management from an accredited program;

(b) a person holding an active and unrestricted Utah professional engineer
license w}10 is applying for the E100 contractor license classification; or

(c) a person who:

(1) is a qualifier on an active and unrestricted contractor license;
(1) became the qualifier on the license on or before October 9, 2014;
and

(iii)  is applying to:
(A)  add additional contractor classifications to the license; or
(Bj become a qualifier on a new entity that is applying for
initial licensure.




R156-55a-303b. Continuing Education - Standards.
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2)

Required Hours. Pursuant to Subsection 58-55-302.5, each licensee shall
complete a total of six hours of continuing education during each two year license
term. A minimum of three hours shall be core education. The remaining three
hours are to be professional education. Additional core education hours beyond:
the required amount may be substituted for professional education hours. A
minimum of three hours shall consist of live in-class attendance. The remaining
three hours may consist of courses provided through distance learning,

(a) "Core continuing education" is defined as construction codes, construction
laws, job site safety, OSHA 10 or OSHA 30 safety training, governmental
regulations pertaining to the construction trades and employee verification
and payment practices, finance and bookkeeping.

(b) "Professional continuing education" is defined as substantive subjects
dealing with the practice of the construction trades, including land
development, land use, planning and zoning, energy conservation,
professional development, arbitration practices, estimating, marketing
techniques, servicing clients, personal and property protection for the
licensee and the licensee's clients and similar topics.

(c) The following course subject matter is not acceptable as core education or
professional education hours: mechanical office and business skills, such
as typing, speed reading, memory improvement and report writing;
physical well-being or personal development, such as personal and
business motivation, stress management, time management, dress for
success, or similar subjects; presentations by a supplier or a supplier
representative to promote a particular product or line of products; and
meetings held in conjunction with the general business of the licensee or
employer.

(d) The Division may defer or waive the continuing education requirements as
provided in Section R156-1-308d.

A continuing education course shall meet the following standards:

(a) Time. Each hour of continuing education course credit shall consist of 50
minutes of education in the form of seminars, lectures, conferences,
training sessions or distance learning modules. The remaining ten minutes
is to allow for breaks.

(b) Provider. The course provider shall be among those specified in
Subsection 58-55-302.5(2).

(©) Content. The content of the course shall be relevant to the practice of the
construction trades and consistent with the laws and rules of this state.

(d) Objectives. The learning objectives of the course shall be reasonably and
clearly stated. ‘

(e) Teaching Methods. The course shall be presented in a competent, well
organized and sequential manner consistent with the stated purpose and
objective of the program.
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() Faculty. The course shall be prepared and presented by individuals who
are qualified by education, training and experience.

(g) Distance learning. A course that is provided through Internet or home
study may be recognized for continuing education if the course verifies
registration and participation in the course by means of a test
demonstrating that the participant has learned the material presented. Test
questions shall be randomized for each participant. A home study course
shall include no fewer than five variations of the final examination,
distributed randomly to participants. Home study courses, including the
five exam variations, shall be submitted in their entirety to the Division for
review. Providers shall track the following:

(i) the amount of time each student has spent in the course;
(ii) what activities the student did or did not access; and
(iii)  all of the student's test scores.

(h) Documentation. The course provider shall have a competent method of
registration of individuals who actually completed the course, shall
maintain records of attendance that are available for review by the
Division and shall provide individuals completing the course a certificate
that contains the following information:

(i) the date of the course;

(i1) the name of the course provider;

(iii)  the name of the instructor;

(iv)  the course title;

(v) -=the hours of continuing education credit and type of credit (core or
professional);

(vi)  the aftendee's name; and

(v) the signature of the course provider.

(i)  Live Broadcast. The three hour live continuing education course may be
taught by live broadcast if:

(1) the student and the instructor are able to see and hear each other;
and
(i) representatlve of the provider is at any remote location to

monitor registration and attendance at the course.
On a random basis, the Division may assign monitors at no charge to attend a
course for the purpose of evaluating the course and the instructor.
Each licensee shall maintain adequate documentation as proof of compliance w1th
this section, such as certificates of completion, course handouts and materials.
The licensee shall retain this proof for a period of three years from the end of the
renewal period for which the continuing education is due. Each licensee shall
assure that the course provider has submitted the verification of attendance to the
continuing education registry on behalf of the licensee as specified in Subsection
(8). Alternatively, the licensee may submit the course for approval and pay any
course approval fees and attendance recording fees.
Licensees who lecture in continuing education courses meeting these
requirements shall receive two hours of continuing education for each hour spent
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lecturing. However, no lecturing or teaching credit is available for participation
in a panel discussion.

The continuing education requirement for electricians, plumbers and elevator
mechanics as established in Subsections 58-55-302.7, if offered by a provider
specified in Subsection 58-55-302.5(2), shall satisfy the continuing education
requirement for contractors as established in Subsection 58-55-302.5 and
implemented herein. The contractor licensee shall assure that the course provider
has submitted the verification of the electrician's, plumber's or elevator
mechanic's attendance on behalf of the licensee to the continuing education
registry as specified in Subsection (8).

A course provider shall submit continuing education courses to the continuing
education registry and shall submit verification of attendance and completion on
behalf of licensees attending and completing the program directly to the
continuing education registry in the format required by the continuing education
registry.

The Division shall review continuing education courses which have been
submitted through the continuing education registry and approve only those
courses which meet the standards set forth under this Section.

As provided in Section 58-1-401 and Subsections 58-55-302.5(2) and 58-55-
302.7(4)(a), the Division may refuse to renew or may revoke, suspend, restrict,
place on probation, issue a public reprimand to, or otherwise act upon the
approval of any course or provider, if the course or provider fails to meet any of
the requirements of this section or the provider has engaged in unlawful or

unprofessional conduct. TR

Continuing Education Registry.
(a) The Division shall designate an entity to act as the Continuing Education

Registry under this rule.

(b) The Continuing Education Registry, in consultation with the Division and
the Commission, shall:

(1) through its internet site electronically receive applications from
continuing education course providers and shall submit the
application for course approval to the Division for review and
approval of only those programs that meet the standards set forth
under this Section;

(i)  publish on their website listings of continuing education programs
that have been approved by the Division, and which meet the
standards for continuing education credit under this rule;

(iii)  maintain accurate records of qualified continuing education
approved;

(iv) maintain accurate records of verification of attendance and
completion, by individual licensee, which the licensee may review
for compliance with this rule; and

(v) make records of approved continuing education programs and
attendance and completion available for audit by representatives of
the Division.




(c)

Fees. A continuing education registry may charge a reasonable fee to
continuing education providers or licensees for services provided for
review and approval of continuing education programs.
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