Pharmacy Board Report

May 2015

2013 2014 2015 May-15
Administrative Filings 37 52 9 15
Criminal Filing/Felony 3 0 0 0
Letter of Concern 60 146 43 5
Referred to Diversion 1 2 0 0
PR/Qutreach 3 4 0 0
Cases Received 710 567 247 42
Case Assigned 676 555 243 42
Closed Cases 731 595 218 63
Citations Issued 103 60 30 14
Pharmacy Inspections 225 335 87 28
Pharmacy Alerts 191 261 65 27
Dr. Shopper Letters 209 571 132 472
NOTES: Pharmacy Group
Admuinistrative Action Pharmacist falsified her renewal regarding criminal convictions. The

Pharmacist signed a Stipulation and Order with $1,000 fine, and her
license was placed on Probation.

Pharmacy was issued a Citation with a $1,050 fine for Pharmacy
Citation Violations found during a Random Inspection.

Pharmacy was issued a Citation with a $1,050 fine for Pharmacy
Citation Violations found during a Random Inspection.

Pharmacy was issued a Citation with a $1,050 fine for Pharmacy
Citation Violations found during a Random Inspection.
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Drug Recycling - Utilization of Unused Prescription Drugs Act

Current Oklahoma law allows the transfer of drugs from nursing homes to the Tuisa County
Pharmacy. Effective November 2004, the pilot program became a full program, with expanded
formulary of all drugs except for controlled substances. Oklahoma Statute 59-367.

For A Brief History of the Drug Recycling Program Click here
Oklahoma Board of Pharmacy Rules and Regulations Link to Pharmacy Board
The Drug Recycling Program has been recognized and received a number of Awards Click here

Blue Cross Blue Shield awarded the Champions of Health Award to the Tuisa County Recycled
Medication Program. Champions of Health Award.

2015 Drug Recycling through May
7,956 prescriptions filled
$790,343 Average Wholesale Price value

2004 start in November to end of May 2015
173,551 prescriptions filled
$16,759,227 Average Wholesale Price of medication

If you are at a nursing home and would like to donate prescriptions, contact Linda fohnston,
Director of Social Services, Tulsa County, email ljohnston@tulsacounty.org or Jerry Gustafson,
MD, retired physician, email orsos@cex.net for more information.

If you want to dispose of expired medications, you can do so at the following locations. List of
Medication Disposal Sites.

Tutsa, Oidahoma 74105-6539 | 918-743-6184 © 2012 Tulsa County Medicat Society | Website design by Sensus Marketing
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THE FOLLOWING RULES ARE CONSIDERED FINALLY ADOPTED AS SET FORTH IN 75
0.S., SECTION 308.1(A), WITH AN EFFECTIVE DATE OF JULY 1, 2005.

TITLE 535. OKLAHOMA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY
SUBCHAPTER 12. UNUSED PRESCRIPTION DRUG PROGRAM FOR OKLAHOMA'S
MEDICALLY INDIGENT

Section

535:12-1-1. Purpose

535:12-1-2. Definitions ,

1535:12-1-3. Eligibility to donate unused prescription drugs

- 535:12-1-4. Consultant pharmacist requirements for eligible nursing homes or approved
assisted living centers (ALC) who donate unused prescription medications

$35:12-1-5. Eligible prescription drugs, formulary

535:12-1-6. Eligible recipients of unused prescription drugs

535:12-1-7. Protection for participants in the unused prescription drug program.

535:12-1-8. Pharmacies eligible to accept and dispense unused prescription medications

535:12-1-9. Requirements for eligible Oklahoma Licensed Charitable Pharmacies dispensing
unused prescription medications

535:12-1-10. Responsibilities of pharmacist manager of eligible licensed pharmacies

535:12-1-11. Labeling "

535:12-1-12. Violations

535:12-1-1. Purpose

(a) The rules of this Chapter describe a statewide program to take unused prescription drugs
from nursing homes, assisted living centers; and donated drugs from pharmaceutical
manutacturers and utilize them for dispensing to medically indigent Oklahoma residents as
authorized under Title 59 O.S. Section 367.1 through 367.7, et seq., the Utilization of Unused
Prescription Medication Act.

(b) The rules of this Chapter describe the eligibility to donate. They describe the eligible
prescription drug formulary, the eligible recipients, and the protections for participants. They
describe pharmacies eligible to accept and dispense such drugs, the requirements for eligible
pharmacies, and the responsibilities for pharmacist managers.

(¢) The rules of this Chapter describe safe handling of medications to protect drug integrity,
tracking, sanitation, security and dispensing requirements for these unused prescription drugs.
The rules of this Subchapter describe confidentiality requirements as well as violations.

535:12-1-2. Definitions

The following words or terms, when used in this Subchapter, shall have the following
meaning, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Assisted living center” means assisted living center as defined in Titie 59 O.S.
Section 367.2.

“Cancer drugs” means cancer drugs as defined in Title 59 O.S. Section 367.2.

“Charitable Clinic”’ means charitable clinic as defined in Title 59 O.S. Section 367.2.

“Eligible Pharmacy” means a pharmacy eligible to participate in the unused
prescription drug program and includes those pharmacies operated by the following:

(A) A County in Oklahoma;

(B) A City-County Health Department in Oklahoma;

(C) A firm under contract with a City County Health Department in Oklahoma;
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(D) A Charitable Clinic; or
(E) The Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services.
- “Health care professional” means health care professional as defined in Title 59 O.S.

Section 367.2. :

“‘Manifest” means an invoice used to list drugs being transferred or destroyed.

- “Medically indigent” means medically indigent as defined in Title 59 O.S. Section
367.2

“Prescription drug” means prescription drug as defined in Title 59 O.S. Section

367.2.

535:12-1-3. Eligibility to donate prescription drugs
(a) Oklahoma licensed Nursing homes, and approved Oklahoma licensed Assisted Living
Centers (ALC) may donate eligible unused prescription drugs.
(1) Oklahoma Nursing Homes are eligible to participate if they are licensed and in good
standing with the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) and are meeting
OSDH drug handling standards:
(A) The OSDH will be consulted regarding rules for Nursing Homes’ participation
in this program;
(B) The OSDH sets requirements under which nursing homes shall maintain
prescription drugs. Such rules establish security, sanitation and control;
(C) Licensed healthcare personnel shail have kept control of such unused
prescription drugs in sanitary and secure conditions as required under OSDH
rules for Nursing Homes; and
(D) Such unused prescription drugs kept to these standards shall be eligible for
donation.
(2) Approved licensed ALC eligibility requirements for participating in donation of
unused prescription drugs under the provisions of this Subchapter:
(A) An application for participation shall be completed by the consultant
pharmacist of the ALC and submitted to the Board.
(B) Only those ALC'’s that maintain prescription drugs under the control of
licensed healthcare professionals in sanitary and secure conditions in a manner
similar to the OSDH rules for nursing home drug control may be approved.
(C) Such application must show adequate controls exist in ordering, storage,
security, etc.
(D) Application must be reviewed and approved by OSBP with the advice of the
Oklahoma State Health Department.
(b) A licensed prescription drug manufacturer may donate samples or eligible prescription
drugs to eligible pharmacies in this program.
(1) Manufacturer’s patient assistance program (PAP) prescriptions that are not claimed
in a reasonable length of time or abandoned by the patient may be used for another
medically indigent patient. '
(2) A patient specific stock bottie sent by a drug manufacturer and not claimed ina
reasonable length of time or abandoned by the patient may be used for another
medically indigent patient. ‘
(c) A prescription is the property of the patient for whom it is prescribed regardless of wh_o paid
for the prescription as described in 59 O.S. Section 354. The patient or agent of the patient
must authorize the donation of the unused prescription drugs, unless the:

(1) Patient has died; or, '
(2) Drug has been discontinued as described in OSDH nursing home rules.
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(d) Prescription medications donated under this Subchapter shall only be transferred to eligible
pharmacies. '

(e) Prescription medications donated under this Subchapter shall not be sold, resold, offered
for sale nor traded, except the transfer as allowed in 535:12-1-9 (d) between eligible
pharmacies.

(f) Violations of the unused prescription drug program are described in 535:12-1-12.

535:12-1-4. Consultant pharmacist responsibilities in eligible nursing homes or
approved assisted living centers (ALC) participating in the program
(a) All donating nursing homes or approved ALC's must have a consultant pharmacist.
(b) Consultant pharmacists for the nursing home or the ALC eligible to donate unused
prescription drugs shall be responsible to: ,
(1) Determine quality and suitability of the unused prescription drugs for reuse by
assuring;
(A) Drugs have been kept under control of a health care professional
(B) Drugs have been stored properly (e.g. heat, cold, moisture),
(C) Drugs can be identified, and
(D) Drugs are not adulterated, mutilated, etc.
(2) Determine that the expiration date exceeds 45 days to allow time for re-distribution;
(3) Determine if it is cost effective to transfer such drugs to an eligible pharmacy;
(4) Assure manifest is properly filled out with the following;
(A) Names of Consultant Pharmacist and Director of Nursing (D.O.N.) or
designee, the nursing home and the name of the receiving pharmacy;
(B) Name and strength of the eligible prescription drug (EPD);
(C) Expiration date of the EPD;
(D) Number of tablets or capsules or volume if liquid or injectable; and
(5) A copy of this manifest shall be provided to the pharmacy and a copy shall be
maintained by the nursing home or ALC for two years;
(6) Assure controlled dangerous substances (CDS), also known as Scheduled drugs,
are not transferred but handled as required under state and federal law;
(7) Assure that the selected pharmacy is eligible to receive unused prescription
‘medications under these rules; and,
(8) Notify the eligible pharmacy when the drugs are ready to be picked up. The
transportation of the unused drugs shall be the responsibility of the eligible receiving
pharmacy. Such eligible pharmacy shall pick up donated drugs in an expedient manner.
(c) The consultant pharmacist and Director of Nursing [D.O.N.] (or designee) of the Nursing
Home will initiate a manifest of the unused prescription drugs to be sent to the eligible
pharmacy as described in (b)(4) and (5) above. They will be responsibie for determining that
the patient has authorized the donation of the drugs.
(d) The consultant pharmacist and the D.O.N. shall assure the name of the patient, name of
the pharmacy, and directions on the label will be redacted with black ink or removed before
sending to the eligible receiving pharmacy to protect confidentiality.

535:12-1-5, Eligible prescription drugs, formulary
(a) All FDA approved prescription drugs excluding any controlled dangerous substances (e.q.
Prescription drugs found in Schedule I, II, lil, IV, or V) subject to the following:
(1) Only eligible prescription drugs in original sealed unit dose or unused injectables;
(2) Packaging must be unopened;
(3) No expired drugs;

Pg3of6



(4) No lost identity or unknown drugs;
(5) No adulterated drugs; and,
(6) No drugs held outside of licensed healthcare person’s control where sanitation and
security can not be assured.

(b) Compounded drugs shall not be eligible for transfer.

(c) Cancer Drugs as approved by the Board and American Cancer Society representatives.
(1) Such cancer drugs shall be in manufacturer's unit dose packaging.
(2) Receiving pharmacy must have the capacity to safely handle cancer drugs.

(d) Licensed prescription drug manufacturers may donate eligible prescription drugs.

535:12-1-6. Eligible recipients of unused prescription drugs

(a) Oklahoma medically indigent residents are entitled to receive dispensed unused
prescription drugs as described in this subchapter.

(b) This program is to provide medications to needy Oklahomans. OAC 535:12-1-12
discusses possible action for abuse and violations.

§35:12-1-7. Protection for participants in the unused prescription drug program
Title 59 O.S. Section 367.6 describes protection for donors and participants in the
unused prescription drug program under this act.

535:12-1-8. Pharmacies eligible to accept and dispense unused prescription
medications
(a) The following Oklahoma licensed pharmacies may accept unused prescription drugs as
described in 535:12-1-4 for dispensing under this act, when operated by:

(1) a County in Oklahoma;

(2) a City-County Health Department in Oklahoma;

(3) a firm under contract with a City County Health Department in Oklahoma;

(4) a Charitable Clinic; or

(5) The Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
(b) All eligible pharmacies prior to beginning or terminating participation shall send written
notice to the Board. A list of these eligible pharmacies will be posted on the Board web-site.
(c) The Board will request input and consult with the Oklahoma State Health Department
regarding rules for City-County Health Department pharmacies.
(d) The Board will request input and consult with the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health
~ and Substance Abuse Services (ODMHSAS) regarding rules for ODMHSAS pharmacies.

535:12-1-9. Requirements for Pharmacies dispensing unused prescription drugs
(a) The following are requirements for eligible Oklahoma licensed pharmacies dispensing
unused prescription drugs;
(1) Maintain a current drug identification book, or may have a current computer program
or online service for the same;
(2) Dispense unused prescription drugs only upon the valid prescription of an Oklahoma
licensed health care practitioner;
(3) Properly label all dispensed unused prescription drugs;
(4) Comply with all federal and state law and rules regarding storage and distribution of
prescription drugs;
(5) Inspect all prescription drugs prior to dispensing to determine that the donated drugs
shall meet all federal and state requirements for product integrity;
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(6) Unused prescription drugs, prescription drug manufacturer’s drug-samples and
donated manufacturers drug stock obtained or donated under this Subchapter shall not
-be resold, except transfers as allowed in 535:12-1-9 (d) between licensed eligible
-pharmacies. B
(b) If itis determined by the pharmacist's professional judgment that it would be best for the
patient, the drugs can be removed from bingo cards (unit dose packaging [UDP]) and placed in
a proper vial for dispensing. If the bingo card is relabeled and used the pharmacist must
ensure that the patient is made aware that the medication is not in a child resistant container.
(1) See expiration dating requirements in labeling 535:12-1-11.
(2) The removal of the medication from the bingo card (UDP) may only be done by the
. dispensing pharmacy’s licensed pharmacist or permitted pharmacy technician.
(3) Samples must remain in original package as required under federal law, and cannot
.be removed from original packaging for dispensing. .
(c) Eligible Oklahoma licensed charitable pharmacies may establish the following policy and
procedures for dispensing of unused prescription drugs to the medically indigent.
(1) May limit the number of prescriptions per patient per visit or per month, to allow a
greater number of individuals access to such prescription drugs.
(2) When established, this should be a written policy that is enforced equally to prevent
discrimination.
(d) Eligible Pharmacies (EP) may transfer unused prescription drugs to another pharmacy in
the program when one EP has the need for a drug and another EP has it available.
(1) A manifest will be prepared by the transferring pharmacy and kept on file for two (2)
years.
(2) A copy of the manifest will be sent with the transferred drugs and kept on file in the
receiving pharmacy for two (2) years.
(e) The Board will request input from the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and
Substance Abuse Services regarding rules for their eligible pharmacies.
(f) The Board will request input from the Oklahoma Department of Health regarding rules for
their eligible pharmacies.

535:12-1-10. Responsibilities of pharmacist manager of eligible licensed pharmacies
(a) The pharmacist manager of eligible licensed pharmacies shall be responsible for the
following:
(% Coordinate retrieval of donated unused prescription drugs from nursing homes and
eligible ALC. Such retrieval shall be in an expedient manner;
{2) Check unused prescription drugs (UPD) against the manifest and resolve any
discrepancy;
(3) Store and secure these UPD as required under state and federal law and rules;
(4) Check the unused prescription drugs for adulteration;
(5) Assure expired, adulterated, lost identity drugs are not dispensed;
(6) Assure such unacceptable drugs are not put in dispensing stock. Destroy such
unacceptable drugs within 14 days as described in 535:12-1-10 (a) (8.
(7) Assure safety in drug recalls. If a drug is recalled and the eligible pharmacy does not
have the lot nurmber on the label to differentiate between the recall and non-recalled, all
such donated recalled drug shall be destroyed.
(8) Assure destruction of expired, adulterated, and/or recalled unused prescription
medications.
(A) A manifest shall be made of unused prescription drugs expired, adulterated
and/or recalled to be destroyed.
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(B) Following destruction such manifest shall be signed by the pharmacist
manager and witness verifying such destruction.

(C) Drug destruction manifest shall be kept in the files of the pharmacy for two (2)
years.

535:12-1-11. Labeling
(a) All previous patient or pharmacy labeling on an unused prescription drug will be redacted or
removed by dispensing eligible pharmacy.
(b) Dispensed prescription for a medically indigent patient will clearly indicate the final
dispensing pharmacy and the current patient information to assure clarity for receiving patient
and shall be properly labeled.
(c) Expiration date is required on all unused prescription drugs dispensed.
(1) The expiration date is brought forward to the filled prescription if only one expiration
date is used in the filling of the prescription.
(2) If multiple packages of unused prescription drugs are used to fill a single prescription
with varied expiration dates, the shortest expiration date is used for the dispensed
prescription.

535:12-1-12. Violations
(a) Theft or diversion of any of the unused prescription drugs is a violation of these rules. This
includes any expired, lost identity drug, recalled drug, or other drug found to be unusable
under the requirements of this Subchapter.
(1) Such violation by a licensed nursing home or licensed Assisted Living Center of
these rules will be referred to the Oklahoma State Health Department and/or other
proper authorities for possible action. ‘
(2) Such violation by the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse
Services facility of these rules will be reported to the Oklahoma Department of Mental
Health and Substance Abuse Services and/or other proper authorities for possible
action.
(3) Such violation by a registrant of the Board may result in action under Title 59 O.S.
Section 353.26.
(b) Dispensing of expired unused prescription drugs is a violation of these rules.
(c) Sale, trade, offer for sale or trade (except transfer as allowed in 535:12-1-9 (d) between
licensed eligible pharmacies) any of the drugs obtained pursuant to this Subchapter and shall
include any expired, lost identity, recalled or other such drug unacceptable for dispensing that
comes into the program shall be a violation of these rules.
(d) Violation of this section by a registrant may result in loss of the ability to participate in this
program; and may include Board action against the registrant as described in Title 59 O.S.
Section 353.26.
(e) Abuse of this program shall be reported to the legislature and may result in the loss of this

program.
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ABOUTUS  LEGISLATORS & STAFF  RESEARCH MEETINGS & TRAINING NCSLIND.C. MAGAZINE BLOG

STATE PRESCRIPTION DRUG RETURN, REUSE AND RECYCLING LAWS ' NAVIGATE

Updated September 2012; material added January 2015 - i+ Home

NCSL has identified and tracked state legislation to create prescription drug “recycling,” “repository” or ' Heaith t

"redistribution” programs for unused medication. While details of the laws vary, most allow the return of prescription « Cost and Quality :

drugs in single use or sealed packaging from state pregrams, nursing homes and other medical facilities, The ' + Diseases and Conditions p
b 2

medicines are then redistributed for use by needy residents who cannot afford to purchase their prescribed drugs.
Some states include provisions for the financial terms of the donations or regulating resale. Virtually all aws include + Federal Healin Issues
some restrictions designed to assure purity, safety and freshness of the products. Unless otherwise noted, all + Health Insurance
programs require: » Medicaid and CHIP

! « Pharmaceuticals

’ Population Groups

All donated d}ugs must not be expired and must have a verified future expiration date. {see consumer

guidefines] H

Controllec substances, defined by the federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) usually be excluded and » Providers and Facilties i

pronhibited, « Heaith Reform ;

A state-licensed pharmacist or pharmacy to be part of the verification and distribution process. » Public Health and Prevention

Each patient who is to receive a drug must have a valid prescription form in his/mer own name. B Other Research Topics :
At least 38 states and Guam have enacted such laws and programs to date. Not all laws or programs are operational. 2
See state table below for further detalls and definitions. B ek em s e 4 e e s e e e e

Share this:

Drugs for Cancer: The enacted program designs in five states, Colorado, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, and
Nebraska, focus on accepting and distributing cancer-related prescription drugs. A program is referenced in
Michigan bu may not be operational. In 2009, the Wisconsin legislature passed 58 455 which deleted specific
raferences to cance drugs from the statutory language of the prescription drug donation program.

Legislative History: 1997-present (Enacted laws in bold)

YEAR STATES WITH ACTIVITY OR LAWS

1997- Georgla passed the first known state law permitting reuse within a long-term care facliity. In 1998
98 Louislana began a pilot program without statutory authority.

2000 Connuctlcut enacted the second of the earliest laws
2001  Oklahoma and Montana authorized long-term-care based programs
2002 New Jersey and Virginia enacted authorizing language

2003 Ohic and Florida authorized a program; Alabama Department of Health adopted Adminitrative Code
CHAPTER 420-11-1: Procedures for Donation of Certain Prescription Drugs to Charitable Clinics.

2004 Massachusetts and Loulsiana enacted similar laws; Michigan permitied the Department of Corrections

to redistribute drug products .

2006 The folowing 21 states considered legisiation on this topic : Arkansas, Califomnia, Colorado, Connecticut, e ) F F 3
Georgia, Indlana, lowa, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Ky |
Pennsyivania, Rhode Island, Virginla, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. -~

2006 The following 25 states considered legislation on this topic: Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgla, llinois, DEXEE DIVES
Louislana, Maryland, Massachuselts, Michigan, Minnescta, Missour, Mississippi, Nebraska, Ohio, SESISIONS
Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennesses, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Seatt! e, A{Ig 3.6, 2015
Wisconsin. . R

2007 The foliowing 15 states considered legislation on this topic: Alabama, Colorado, itiinois,

Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippl, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Okiahoma,

Pennsylvania. Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas and Wisconsin. We are the nation’s mast respected bipartisan
organization providing states support, ideas.

i : riler program, p . y
2008 Kansas added a reuse program, signed into law 3/20/08; Minnesota exparnded an earlier progral connections and a strong voice on Capite! Hil

Pennsylvanla created a cancer reuse repository. Ten other states, including Alaska,
llinois, Massachusetts, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, South Carolina and West Virginia
conside-ed legislation that was nof passed.

2008 New Mexico created a reuse program within the Corrections Department; Virginta expanded its program

to allow both hospitals and clinics to dispense donated drugs. Additional laws passed in 1A, ID, MT, NE, NV
(2}, OR, VA (4} and WY

2010 Pennsylvania Senate OKs bill allowing jails to recycle unused medicine (Pittsburgh Tribune-Review). The

’ state Senzie this week approved legisiation allowing jails to redistribute their unopened prescription
medicines. i's a cost-cutting measure that's already being done at the Armstrong County Jail in Rayburn
Read More

ARAL P A e wmd T K e wm B I A wmade mbmbnta TN webmn ek K

Hip/iwww.nesl orgiresearchvhealttvstate- prescription-drug-return-reuse-and-recycling.aspx 111
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2UT1  HOIn Ajapama and indiana passed DINS relateda 1o uNUsSea Arugs ana eacn state's Ueparnmeant ar
Corrections. New Hampshire passed legislation to allow manufacturers samples to be donaied as an
‘unused prescription drug’ to the preexisting NH program. New Mexlco passed legislation allowing for a
prescription drug donation program by enacting a new section of the New Mexico Drug, Device and
Cosmetic Act. This new section provided standards and procedures for accepting, storing, labeling and
redistributing donated prescription drugs by clinics

2012 Californla passed and signed SB 1329, which significantly expanded the prescription drug donation and
' distribution law enacted in 2005.

2013 Colorado updated their program.
Source: NCSL Jegislative research

Evidance of Effectiveness: It is still too early to know the overall impact these programs have on offsetting the
costs of caring for the uninsured in emergency rooms and clinics. But hopes are high in some states, For example,
between 2007 and 2012, lowa's drug recycling program reports $5,896,000 worth of drugs donated to 26,800
eligible residents. The main obstacles: lack of awareness about the programs and added work for repository sites
accepting the donations,

EPA 2010 Guldslines for Safe Permanent Disposal

The U.S. Environmmental Protection Agency released draft guidelines on September 8, 2010 for the proper disposal
of unused pharmaceuticals by hospitals and other health care facilities. The 43-page document describes techniques
for reducing or avoiding pharmaceutical waste, practices for identifying and managing types of unused
pharmaceuticals, and applicable disposal regulations. EPA is seeking public comment on the draft until Nov. 8 and
expects to publish a final draft later this year. Note that this NCSL report is cited as the source for pages A1-AS of the
EPA document.

Practical Guidelines for Consumers Hoping to Donate Drugs

Most state programs described in this report have substantial restrictions on who can donate, and what types of
prescription products may be donated. Very sirict safety rules also apply, Intended to protect the patient that
ultimately obtains and takes the drug. See the state law table below for specific examples or language.

In many staies, all donations must meet standards such as:

Only certain, professionally-designated persons can make a donation. For example the Kansas law states,
"Health facilities and pharmacies;” Connecticut, Pennsylvania and Rhode island have similar limitations,
(Other states do allow patients to donate directly, for example, Arizona, Florida and lowa.

Pills in opened or partly used bottles are never accepted. Generally the packaging must be intact, meeting
an exact standard such as the Kentucky law, "Upon inspection, the drug must be in its original, unopened,
seales, .and tamper-evident unit dose packaging.”

Qld drugs me never accepted. Expiration dates must be visible, and usually at least six months later than the
date of donation. {Many prescription products carry an expiration date approximately ong year after the
original date of the purchase)

Commonly, donated drugs must be delivered to a specific type of medicai or pharmacy facility. Some may
require the donor to sign a form or waiver.

Usually financial compensation is prohibited. Donations may be tax-deductable if paid for by the individual
patient and taxpayer. Beyond donaticn programs, patients and other individuals may not sell any
prescription drugs - such transactions are strictly regulated by State Boards of Pharmacy and other state and
federal laws,

If your gaal as a consumer is simply to protect your local water supply or clean out your medicine cabinet,
these programs will not meet your needs.

If you wish to participate, check with a local pharmacy or prescriber for practical advice on what may work in
your situation, in your state.
Disclaimer: NCSL provides material about state laws as general information, primarily for policymakers. No
information in this report is infended as personal legal or medical advice; NCSL is not responsible for any such uses
or application of material in this report.

Media-related Resources

NCSL Article: "Donating Unused Drugs® - State Legisiatures Magazine, July/August 2008.
Kansas sets up program to redistribute unused meds, AP news article: May §, 2009.

Hurdles Facing Unused Prescription Drug Repasitories: State-legislated programs for the donation of unused
drugs have seen limited success. Scientific American, January 29, 2009.

Massachusetts: "Opportunity to Save Millions Missed” - Rep. Bard Jones newsletter, 12/30/09,
Oregon Ivoks to Oklahoma for Re-use program example, 210/2008

State Programs - Alphabetical Order

The state table be~w includes two categories. 39 states with some enacted and/or operational program and 4
additional states with restricted purpose programs or policies. For the details of each law, please click the
hyperlinked state name or see the state’s website. This chart reflects the language enacted into law on the dates
indicated; recent enacted laws are updated as of May 2009. States may have additional regulations or executive
agency guidelines that darify or modify the terms described below.

STATE DESCRIPTION; HISTORY

Bill #; Year

Alabama What Rx; A Prescription drug that has been dispensed and has left the control of the pharmacy if
8B 113 the prescription drug is being returned by a correctional facility

(2011} Who can donate: A corrections facility that has met cerlain requirments and has a registeres

professional or licensed practical nurse who is responsible for the security, handling and

mtp:!Mww.msl.orgfr%earcl-ﬂealWStatepr%cripﬁm&ug-retun-rewe—and-recyc!ing.aspx
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Arizona
HB 2382
Rep. Groe
(2008)

Arkansas

HB 1031

Rep. Mahony-
(2005}

Califomia
SB 1329 (2012)
SB 798 {2005)
Sen. Simitian

Colorado

SB 07-231
Sen. Tochtrop
(2007}

Connecticut
HB 6002
Rep. Lyons
(2000)

Delaware

Florida
SB22A
(2003)

HB 371

Rep. Harrell
(20086}

CEanreio

State Prescription Drug Return, Reuse and Recycling Laws -NCSL

administration of the drugs.
Who Accepts: Department of Corrections or operated by a company under contract with the
depariment

_Program Status:

What Rx: Accept only in original sealed & tamper-evident unit dose packaging. Rx Boarg will
issue list of un-acceptable products.

Who can donate: Person, manufacturer or health care institution.

Who accepis: Pharmacy, hospital, nonprofit clinic that volunteers to participate.

Donated to; Only state residents who meet eligibility standards set by Board.

Restrictions: Expiration must be more than 6 months from donation date. Recipient must sign
waiver form about the source and non-liability.

Program Status: Final Regulations promulgated, effective 6/6/08. As of February 2011, the
Arizona Pharmacy Board had not published information on the Prescription Medication
Repository Program on their website.

What Rx: Accepts drugs only in their original sealed amper-evident packagirig.

Who can donate: Nursing faciiity by the clinic pharr
Who accepts: Charitable clinic pharmacies.

- Donated to: Appropriately screened and qualified indigent patients who are not eligible for
.Medicaid but cannot afford private heaith insurance.

Restrictions: The charitable clinic pharmacy cannot accept controlled substances. Mo product

" of which the integrity cannot be assured is accepted for re-dispensing.
,Program Status: Signed into law by governor as Act 132, 2/15/05. Scheduled effective date:
’ August 2005; Program currently operational.

- ‘What Rx: Drugs that are received and maintained in their unopened, tamper-evidentpac.:kaging‘

Who can donate: Licensed heaith facilities, licensed pharmacies, and drug manufacturers that
are legally authorized under federal law to manufacture and sell pharmaceutical drugs.

wWho accepts: Local ordinances established by counties that eiect to create such a repository
and distribution program.

Donated to: Persons in need of financial assistance to ensure access to necessary
pharmaceutical therapies.

Restrictions: Must be ensured that drugs received have not been in the possession of any
individual member of the public,

Program Status: Signed into law by governor as Chapter 444, 8/30/05; Program currently
operational; In September 2012 California passed and signed $B 1329, which significantly
expanded the prescription drug donation and distribution law enacted by SB 798 in 2005. it
authorizes counties to act and adds primary care clinics and pharmacies to those who c¢an
participate in the program

What Rx: Unused cancer drugs or medical devices.

Who can donate: Cancer patients or the patients' family,

Who accepts: Health care facilities, medical clinics or pharmacies that elect to participate in the
program.

Donated to: Eligible health care facilities, medical clinics or pharmacies for use under the
program as well as eligible patients.

Restrictions: Cancer drugs or medical devices needs to be prescribed by a practitioner, as
defined in section 12-22-102 (27), C.R.S,, for use by an eligible patient and is dispensed by 2
pharmacist.

Program Status: The Act took effect 8/8/07; Program currently operational.

What Rx: Drug products.

Who can donate: Long-term care facilities.

Who accepts: Vendor pharmacy or the Department of Social services for drug repackaging and
reimbursement.

Donated to: Eligible patients,

Restrictions: Prescription drug products that are not controlled substances, sealed in individually
packaged units, returned to the vendor pharmacy within the recommended period of shelf life for
the purpose of redispensing such drug products, determined to be of acceptable integrity by a

licensed pharmacist.
Program Status: Signed by governor 6/21/00; Program currently operationat.

Who can donate: State does not allow a drug repository/Donation program

Who accopts: State permits the return and use of medication, in specific cases (Soure NABF. 2014)

What Rx: Unused cancer drugs or supplies in its original, unopened, sealed and tamper-evident
unit dose packaging.

Who can donate: A person, health care facility, hospital, pharmacy, drug manufacturer, medical
device manufacturer or supplier, wholesaler of drugs or supplies, or any other entity may donate.
Who accepts: A physician's office, pharmacy, hospital, hospice, or health care clinic that
participates in the program.

Donated to: Residents, except those Medicaid-eligible or under any other prescription drug
program funded in whole or in part by the state are ineligible to participate.

Restrictions: All drugs submitted to the program will be administered by a pharmacist to
determine the drugs and supplies are not adulterated or misbranded. Additionally a cancer drug
may not be accepted or dispensed under the program if such drug bears an expiration date that
is less than six months after the date the drug was donated.

Program Status: Fla. Stat. §409.908. The act took effect July 1, 2006; Program currently
Operational,
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Who can donate: Any person, including a drug manufacturer or any health care facity, may
donate prescription drugs to the drug repository program,

Who accepts: Any pharmacy, hospital, or nonprofit clinic that elects to participate in the drug
repository program and meets criteria for participation in the program.

Donated to: Medically indigent persons who are residents of Georgia.

Restrictlons: Only drugs in their original sealed and tamper-evident unit dose packaging may be
accepted and dispensed. The packaging must be unopened, except that drugs packaged in
single unit doses may be accepted and dispensed when the outside packaging is opened if the
singte unit dose packaging Is undisturbed. Drugs donated by individuals must have an expiration
date that is more than six months from the date the drug is donated.

Program Status: The state-wide program required by this Code section was to be implemented
no later than January 1, 2007.

What Rx: Prescription drugs, non-prescription drugs, over the counter drugs, medical supplies,
and other items that are identified, dated, and transported to the Medicine Bank in accordance
with accepted and required standards established by Guam law, Federal law and/or Federal
guidelines to include the United States, Food and Drug Administration.

Who can donate: Any pharmacy, wholesale prescription drug distributor, pharmaceutical
company, institutional facility, or practitioner, as well as, charitable, religious, or nonprofit
organizations.

Who accepts: Medicine Bank, created at Community Health Centers and various institutional
faciiities that are government owned and operated.

Donated to: Eligible individuals in need as defined by the Guam MIP law or the Medicald Poverty
Guidelines.

Restrictions: No medication which has been previously dispensed by a practitioner to a private
citizen will be accepted. Materials received which are not prescription medicines such as over-
the-counter medicines, home health equipment, medical supplies, and any other items, will alsc
te carefully inspected upon receipt. They must be judged fit for use before being distributed or
will be properly disposed of in accordance with Guam law.

Program Status: Signed into faw, 2004 as §5103 & 5104.

What Rx: Prescription drugs previously dispensed or distributed by a pharmacy for administration
to patients in an institutional facility by personnel of the institutional facility may be returned to the
pharmacist.

Who can donate: Patients or personnel of an institutional facifity with unused drugs,

Who accepts: institutional facilities or repositories of the state of Hawaii,

Donated to: Pharmacists.

Restrictions: The prescription drugs should be returned only to the original dispensing
pharmacy. Also, prescription drugs from individual members of the public are not accepted for
reuse.

Program Status: This act was effective July 1, 2004, and will sunset on July 1, 2010; Law has
been REPEALED

Who can donate: Only pharmacy wholesalers, manufacturers, hospitals, nursing homes. (Source:
NABP, 2014)

Who accepts: Indigent care clinics

What Rx: Unused medications.

#Who can donate: Health facilities with unused drugs.

Who accepts: Pharmacy or pharmacist who initially dispensed the medication.

Donated to: Pharmacists, hospitals, health care facilities or pracitioners.

Restrictions: Requires the office of Medicaid policy and planning {office) to review the process of
returning unused medication.

Program Status: Statute Sec. 1- 6 effective 07/01/04; Program not operational as of August
2008.

What Rx: Unused medication

Who can donate: A county jail or a Department of Corrections facility

Who accopts: The pharmacy which dispensed the medication

Speclal provisions: Also allows entity to return unused medical devices or medica: supplies that
are used for prescription drug therapy. Allows a pharmacist or pharmacy to negotiate a fze for
processing returns. Allows the use of an electronic prescription for certain controtied substances.
Program Status:

What Rx: Prescription drugs and supplies.

Who can donate: Any person may donate prescription drugs and supplies.

Who accepts: Medical faciiities or pharmacies that elect to participate in the program and
meetthe requirements established by the department. Donated to: Drugs may be donated

to individuals or may be distributed to another eligible medical facility or pharmacy for use.
Ellgibility: jowans at or below 200% of the federal poverty levet as well as individuals who are
uninsured or under-insured are eligible to receive donated drugs. Any crganization or individual
in the country can donate medications in their original sealed container or in tamper-evident
packaging. Any pharmacy or medical facllity with authorization to dispense per State of

lowa administrative rules may re-dispense donated medications.

Restrictions: Must be inspected to assure the prescription drug or supplies have not been
adulterated ormisbranded. The drug must be in its original sealed andtamper-evident packaging.

Program Status: The bill was approved and signed by the governor on May 3, 2005. NABP
reports "ruies in development establishing a Drug Donation Repository.” As of 12/07. Dept. of
Public Heath Regulations ARG 5563B (Chapter 109) Effective March 2007; Program is currently
Operational and reports $5,896,000 worth of drugs donated to 26,800 eligible residents as of

2012,
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designed to help ease the financial burden of the high cost of prescription medications for
uninsured and under-insured lowans. The corporation contracts with the lowa Dept. of Public
Health to operate the lowa Prescription Drug Donation Repository Pragram. Web site: Toll Free:
1-866-282-5817
The lowa Prescription Drug Donation Repository Program Website {updated Feb. 2014]

What Rx: Unused medications; excludes conirolled substances.

Who can donate: Residents of adult care homes and donating entities that volunteer to
participate in the program.

Who accepts: A qualifving center or clinic in consultation with a pharmacist,

Donated to: Medically indigent residents of Kansas.

Restrictions: The medications must come from a controlled sforage unit of a donating entity and
be in its original packaging or tamper-evident packaging. Drugs purchased under Medicaid or
SCHIP do not apply.

Program Status: Signed into law by governor on March 20, 2008. (KS Article 5/5/09); Program
currently operational.

What Rx: Cancer prescription "Legend” drugs or supplies needed to administer such drugs.
Who can donate: Health facilities and pharmacies.

Who accepts: Donations can be made on the premises of a heaith facility or pharmacy that
elects o participate in the program and meets requirements specified by the cabinet by an
administrative regulation promuigated by the cabinet.

Donated to: Individuals who meet the eligibility criteria specified by an administrative regulation
promulgated by the cabinet or eligible health facility or pharmacy for use under the program.
Restrictions: The legend drug cannat be classified as a controlled substance. Upon inspeclion,
the drug must be in its original, unopened, sealed, and tamper-evident unit dose packaging. in
addition, the Jegend drug or supplies must be prescribed by a physician, advanced registered
nurse practitioner, or physician assistant and dispensed by a pharmacist.

Program Status: Signed into law by the governor on March 18, 2005; Program not operational
as of August 2009.

What Rx: Prescription drugs.

Who can donate: Any person, including a drug manufacturer, hospital, health care facility, or
governmental entity.

Who accepts: Charitable pharmacies.

Donated to: Appropriately screened and qualified patients.

Restrictions: Drugs must be in their original sealed and tamper-evident packaging. In addition,
donor shall execute a form stating the donation of the drugs. The pharmacy should retain that
form along with other acquisition records.

Program Status: A pilot program began in 1998 without statutory authority.

HB 1402 Signed into law as Act 811 of 2004, Program effective August 15, 2004.

What Rx: Unused portions of or surplus prescription drugs that are within the expiration date.
Who can donate: A hospital, health care facility, or governmental entity enrolled in the Medicaid

program.

Who accepts: Charitable pharmadies.

Donated to: Medically indigent residents of Louisiana.

Restrictions: Drugs must be in their original sealed and tamper-evident packaging. Pharmacists
of the charitable pharmacies should determine if the drug is not adulterated or misbranded and is
safe to dispense.

Program Status: Signed into law by governor as Act 643 of 2008, 6/29/06; Program currently
Operational.

What Rx: Unused prescription drugs.

Who can donate: Drug manufacturers, drug wholesale or terminal distributors, hospitals, heatth
clinics, federally quatified health centers, Indian health centers and rural health centers and
assisted living facilities licensed by the department.

Who accepts: Pharmacies, hospitals, heaith clinics and federally qualified fealth centers, indian
heaith centers and rural heatth centers, Donated to: Qualified residents of Maine, which include
famity income below 350% of the federal non-farm income official poverty level and not receiving
benefits from Mainecare.

Rostrictions: The program will only accept prescription drugs that are unopened and packaged
in tamper-evident unit dose packages or that are unopened injectable, aerosol or topical
medications.

Program Status: Signed into law by governor as Chapter 20, 5/31/05.

A 2007 law, Special Act Chapter 27, signed §/27/07, provided $300,000 funding for the Miane
Drug Enforcement Agency to establish a pilot program for retun of unused prescription drugs by
mail, "consistent with the Main Drug Return Implementation Group establishec by Public Law
chapter 670 of 2003.

What Rx: Prescription drugs or medical supplies.

Who can donate: Any person.

Who accepts: Board approved drop-off sites and/or repositories which meets specified criteria,
Donated to: A needy patient who is a resident of Marylang, as indicated by the individual's health
care practitioner.

Rsstrictions: The drugs must be in their original unopened and sealed packaging; or packaged
in tamper-evident unit dose packaging and unadulterated. The donor must sign 8 staternent that
indicates the donor is the owner of the drugs and are voluntarily offering them to the program.
Controtied dangerous substances may not be donated.

Program Status: Signed by governor as Chapter 287, 5/2/06. Effective Juty 1, 2006 Program
currently Operational.
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Massachusetts What Rx: Unused medications.

ch, 111, Who can donate: Residents or consultant pharmacist in a health care facility.
Section 251 Who accepts: Health care facilities.
(2004) Donated to: Eligible residents of Massachusetts.

Restrictions: The donated medication should be sealed in unopened, individually packaged
units and within the recommended period of shelf life. Excluded are schedule | or 1} controlled
substances as defined in MA chapter ninety-four C.

Program Status: Signed by governor in 2004; Program currently Operational.

Oplnlon articie: Massachusetts: "Opportunity to Save Millions Missed” - Rep. Brad Jones
newsletter, 12/30/08.

Michigan What Rx: Drug repostory program for corrections. A separate cancer program is referenced in

Public Act 328 Michigan but may not be operational. .
of 2004 Who can donate: The Michigan Depariment of Corrections (DOC) is permitted to return and
Rep. Pumford reuse medications.

(2004) Restrictions/Analysis: The DOC estimates that redistributing unused medications would save
- approximately $800,000 per year, but the actua! extent of the savings would depend on both the

costs of the redispensed medications and the frequency with which they otherwise would have
been discarded. The DOC’s estimate, however, did not assume that only unitpackaged
medications could be reused. This provision likely would diminish potential savings. Link to
analysis of HB 6021 | Bill summary by House Fiscal Agency, 2004
Program status; HB 5021 by was signed a5 Public Act 329, effective September 23 2004, The public
program may not be operational.

Minnesota What Rx: Cancer drugs or supplies.
Statute 151.55 Who can donate: A pharmacy, medical facility, drug manufacturer, or wholesale drug distributor,

{2007) can donale if the donated drugs have not been previously dispensed. In addition, any individual
. over the age of 18 may donate.
Who accepts: Pharmacies or medical facilities on the premises that volunteer to parlicipate in
the program. The medical facilities or pharmacies need to be ficensed and in compliance with all
applicable federal and state laws and administrative rules.
Donated to: Any Minnesota resident who is diagnosed with cancer Is eligible 1o receive drugs or
supplies. The drugs will be distributed upon a priority base.
Restrictions: Drugs must be in its original, unopened, tamper-evidert unit dose packaging and
not adulterated or misbranded. The donation must alse be accompanied by a cancer drug
repository donor form that is signed by the person making the donation or that person's
authorized representative,

Program Status: Statute effective 2007 Program Operational as of August 2009.

SF 2941 expanding terms for a state repository and reuse of unused drugs program. (Passed
Senate; passed House; signed into law as Chapter 327 of 2008, 5/15/08

Mississippi What Rx: Prescription drugs.
Miss. Code Ann. Who can donate: The State Board of Pharmacy. the State Depariment of Health; the Division of
§43-13-503 Medicaid; any person, including a drug manufacturer, or health care facliity or government entity.
(20043 Who accepts: Any pharmacy, hospital, nonprofit clinic or health care professional.
Donated to: Individuals who meet the eligibility standards or to other government entities and
nonprofit private entities to be dispensed to individuals who meet the eligibility standards,
Restrictions: Only drugs in their original sealed and tamper-evident packaging may be accepted
and dispensed.
Program Status: The drug repository program shall be fully implemented not later than July 1,
2005; Program not operational as of August 2009.

Missour What Rx: Sealed and unopened prescription drugs.
HB 898, Who can donate: Any person or entity may donate prescription drugs.
S8 1160 Who accepts: Any pharmacy, hospital, or non-profit clinic that elects to participate in the
Sen. Shields program.
- (2004) Donated to; Eligible Missouri residents.

Restrictions: Prescription drugs must be in their original sealed and tamper-evident unit dose
packaging. Prescription drugs donated by individuals should bear the manufacturer's lot number
and an expiration date that is more than six months from the date the prescription drug is

Missour donated.

HB 1687 Program Status: The act was effective 8/28/04; Program currently operatlonal
Rep. Mark

Wright

(20086) What Rx: Prescription drugs.

Who can donate: Any person, including but not limited to a prescription drug manufacturer or
health care facility, may donate prescription drugs to the prescription drug repository program.
Who accepts: Any pharmacy, hospital, or nonprofit clinic that elects to participate in the
prescription drug repository program and meets the criteria for participation established by rule of
the department pursuant to section 196.984,

Donated to: People who are residents of Missouri and who meet the eligibility requirements of
the program, or to other governmental entities and nonprofit private entities to be dispensed to
persons who meet the eligibility requirements of the program.

Program Status: Approved by governor 07/12/2006. Appears to be not yet operational as

of 4/09.
Montana What Rx: Unused prescription drugs.
SB 288 Who can donate: Long-term care facilities.
Sen. Christi Who pts: Provisional community pharmacies.
(2001} Donated to: Qualified patients for transfer free of charge or at a reduced charge to those
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Restrictions: Drugs defined as a dangerous drug or a drug designated as a precursor to a
contralled substance cannot be accepted.

Program Status: This act was effective 10/1/01; it was to be fully implemented by 1/1/05;
Program currently operational.

What Rx: Cancer drugs.

Who can donate: Any person or entity, including, but not limited to, a cancer drug manufacturer
or health care facility.

Who accepts: Any physician's office, pharmacy, hospital, or health dlinic that elects (o participate
in the program and meets criteria established by the depariment for such participation.

Donated to: Eligible Nebraska residents.

Restrictions: The drug needs to be in its original, unopened, sealed, and tamper-evident unit
dose packaging, except that a cancer drug packaged in single unit doses may be accepted and
dispensed if the outside packaging is opened but the single-unit-dose packaging is unopened.
Program Status: The Act, RRS Neb. 71-2424 et seq., became operative on 9/15/03.

in addition, LB 1116 of 2006 clarified the program, including eliminating a restriction on the
rumber of doses that can be donated; allowing donation of injectible cancer drugs and requiring

V donation forms to incljde the name of the original patient. (Signed into law 3/13/06)

What Rx: Prescription drugs.

Who can donate: A public or private mental heaith facility may return a prescription drug that is
dispensed to a patient of the facility, but will not be used by that patient.

Who accepts: A dispensing pharmacy.

Donated to: The drug will be used to fill other prescriptions for patients in the pharmacy facility.
Restrictions: The drug cannot be a schedule Il drug specified in or pursuant to chapter 453 of
NRS. The drug must be dispensed in a unit dose, in individually sealed doses or in a bottle that is
s2aled by the manufacturer of the drug.

Program Status: The act becomes effective on July 1, 2003; Program currently operational,

What Rx: Manufacturer's samples.

Who Can Donate: Grants the New Hampshire pharmacy board rule making authority regarding
other persons and entities allawed to donate to the program.

Who can accept: The New Hampshire donation program for unused prescription drugs.
Program Status:

What Rx: Prescription drugs.

Who can donate: Unopened, unexpired prescription drugs dispensed 1o, but not used by, a
patient within a licensed health care facility, may be reused at the facility in accordance with
regulations issued by the State Board of Pharmacy.

Restructions: Must be unopened and unexpired.

Program Status: This provision was ngf operational as of 12/2007 according to the National
Association of Boards of Pharmacy, No program in operation as of August 2009,

What Rx: Unused medication

Who can donate: A corrections facility that has a registered or licensed nurse.

Who accepts: A pharmacy operated by, or under contract with, the Corrections Department .
Restrictions: Product "has not been altered, defaced or tampered with and include the identity,
strength, expiration date and lot number of the prescription drug; and the prescription drug was
dispensed in a unit-dose package or unit-of-issue package.”

Program Status: Signed into law by governor as Chapter No. 2008-236, 4/7/2009; Program
currently operational.

What Rx: Unused and donated prescription drugs.
Who can donate: Clinics.

Who Accepts:

Program Status:

What Rx: Unused medication,

Who can donate: A resident or consultant pharmacist or his designee in a residential health
care facility.

Who accepts: The pharmacy from which the medication was purchased.

Donated to: Eligible New York residents.

Restrictions: The medication must be unopened in the original manufacturer's packaging and
must be in tamper evident packaging.

Program Status: The new law was referred to the NY Health Department on 1/8/08.

Who can donate: State does allow a drug repository/Donation program
Who accepts: State permits the return and use of medication fSoure: NABP. 2014)

What Rx: Legend drugs, devices, or supplies.

Who can donate: Any person or entily.

Who accepts: Practiioners or pharmacies that meets the criteria established for participation i
the program.

Donated to: Eligible patients.

Restrictions: A drug donated, prescribed, or dispensed under the program must be in the
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original, unopened, sealed, and tamper-gvident unit dose packaging, except a drug packaged in
single-unit doses may be accepted and dispensed if the outside packaging has been opened and
the single-unit-dose package is unopened.

Program Status: Signed into law by governor in April 2007; Program currently operational,

Patients may find out if a prescription is available by visiting www.rnodakpharmacy.com. A drug
donor form can be printed online. To find participating pharmacies and available drugs, devices
and supplies, residents can visit www.freemedsnd.com, sponsored by the North Dakota Board of
Pharmacy and the North Dakota Pharmacists Association.[updated 9/09] ‘

What Rx: Prescription drugs.

Who can donate: Any person, including a drug manufacturer or health care facility.

Who accepts: Any pharmacy, hospital, or nonprofit ¢linic that has elected to participate in the
program and meetls certain eligibility requirements established in rules adopted by the Board.
Danated to: Individuals with a prescription issued by a health care professional authorized to
prescribe drugs.

Restrictions: Drugs must be in their original sealed and tamper-evident unit dose packaging.
Program Status: Signed by governor 1/6/03; Program currently operational.

What Rx: Unused prescription drugs.

Who can donate: Drugs may be transferred from residential care homes, nursing facilities,
assisted living centers, public intermediate care facilities for people with mental retardation
{ICF/MR} or pharmaceutical manufacturers,

Who accepts: Any pharmacies operated by a county, pharmacy operated by a E:ity~county health

department or a pharmacy under contract with a city-county health department, a pharmacy
operated by the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services or a charitable
clinic for the purpose of distributing the unused prescription medications.

Donated to: Oklahoma residents who are medically indigent.

Reastrictions: Prescription drugs defined as controlled substances will not be accepled.
Program Status: This act became effective 11/1/08; Program currently operational.

What Rx: Unused cancer drugs

Who can donate: health care facility, health clinic, hospital, pharmacy or physician's office.
Who accepts: Authorized participating pharmacies, designated by the Cancer Drug Repository
Program of the State Board of Pharmacy.

Donated to: Needy residents, as dedfined in “Income efigibility criteria and other standards and
pracedures for individuals participating in the program, determined by the Department of Public
Velfare and the Pharmacy Board.

Restrictions: Unit dose medication must be maintained by a health care facility, health clinic,
hospital, pharmacy or physician's office rather than an individual patient, as "part of a closed drug
delivery system.” Expiration date must be at feast six months in the future. A pharmacy "may
charge a handling fee", to be determined by the Board of Pharmacy. Regulations to be drafted
within 90days of effective date.

Program Status: signed into law by governor as Act No. 14 on 5/13/08; effective date 7/12/08;
Program not operational as of August 2009,

What Rx; Unused prescription medication.

Who can donate: Nursing homes, assisted living centers and prescription drug manufacturers.
Who accepts: Authorized participating pharmacies.

Donated to: Medically indigent Rhode istand residents.

Restrictions: The packaging of the medication should not be opened, except cancer drugs
packaged in single-unit doses.

Program Status: The program was scheduled to begin 1/1/06. In 2007 HB 5850 extended the
implemention date to 4/1/07 and required notification to all nursing homes of the new program;
Program not operational as of August 2009,

Who can donate: State does not allow a drug repository/Donation program. (Source: NABP, 2034)
Who accepts: State permits the return and use of medication, "with pharmacist's profesional
judgment.”

What Rx: Unused unit dose drugs.

Who can donate: Patients in hospice programs, nursing facifities, or assisted iiving facilities.
Who accepts: Hospice programs, nursing facilities, or assisted living facillties.

Donated to: Eligible patients.

Restrictions: The drugs are provided in the manufacturer's unit dose packaging or are
repackaged by the pharmacy in a hermetically sealed single unit dose container.

Program Status: Signed by governor 2/16/04; Program not operational as of August 2008,

What Rx: Unused prescription medications; controlied substances are excluded.

Who can donate; Nursing homes or hospice services programs.

Who accepts: Charitable clinic pharmacies.

Donated to: Tennessee residents who are indigent.

Restrictions: Drugs only in their original sealed and tamper-evident packaging should be
accepted.

Program Status: The act took effect 7/1/06; Program currently operational.

What Rx: Unused drugs; controlied substances are excluded.

Who can donate; A pharmacist who practices in or serves as a consultant for a health care
facility or a licensed health care professional responsible for administration of drugs in a penal
institution.

Who accepts: Pharmacies.

Donated to: Eligible patients.

Restrictions: Drugs must be sealed in unopened tamper-evident packaging and either
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individually packaged or packaged in unit-dose packaging.
Program Status: Signed into law by governor 6/15/07; Program currently operational.

What Rx: Unused drugs.

Who can donate: A pharmacist may accept back and redistribute any unused drug, or a part of
it, after it has lefi the premises of the pharmacy.

Who accepts: n/a

Donated to: n/a

Restrictions: The drug must have been prescribed 1o a patient in a nursing care facility, an
{CFMR, or state prison facility, county jail, or state hospital; the drug must have been stored
under the supervision of a licensed health care provider according o manufacturer
recommendations; the drug should be in a unit pack or in the manufacturer's sealed container,
the drug should have been returned 1o the original dispensing pharmacy; the drug should have
initially dispensed by a licensed pharmacist or licensed pharmacy intern; and hack and
redistribution of the drug complies with Federa! Food and Drug Administration and Drug
Enforcement Administration regulations.

ngram Status: This law became effective on July 1, 2005; Program not operational as of
August 2009

What Rx: Any unsold or unused prescription drugs and medical supplies that the facility or
distributor cannot sell or otherwise use.

Who can donate: Any health care facllity and wholesale drug distributor,

Who accepts: Any participating pharmacy, hospital, or nonprofit clinic.

Conated to: Vermont residents who meet the eligibility standards.

Restrictions: Drugs or medical supplies must be in their original sealed and tamper-evident unit
dose packaging to be accepted and dispensed, except for drugs packaged in single unit doses
when the outside packaging is opened if the single unit dose packaging is undisturbed. The
board of pharmacy shall allow donation of only those drugs bearing an expiration date that is less
than six months beyond the date the drug is donated and shall allow drugs to be dispensed only
when the expiration date is more than one month from the date of dispensing.

Program Status: 01/24/2006.

What Rx: Prescription drugs.

Who can donate: Hospitals are authorized to donate drugs that were originally dispensed to
nospita! patients, but have been returned.

Who accepts: Pharmacies. May be redispensed by clinics (2005) and hospitals (as of 2009 law)
Donated to: Indigent patients, without charge.

Restrictions: The pharmacist-in-charge at the pharmacy shall be responsible for determining the
suitability of the product for re-dispensing. A re-dispensed prescription shall not be assigned an
expiration date beyond the expiration date or beyond-use date on the label fram the first
dispensing and no product shali be re-dispensed more than one time. No product shall be
accepted for re-dispensing by the pharmacist where integrity cannot be assured.

Program Status: H 154 signed 4/6/02. HB 1854 Signed by governor as Chapter 68, 3/24/05;
Program currently Operational.

2009 HB 2682 signed as Chapter No. 114, 2/5/09. Statute: Va. Code Ann. 54-3411.1

Who can donate: State does allow a drug repository/donation program
Who accepts: State permits the return and use of medication Source: NABP. 2014}

What Rx: Prescription drugs.

Who can donate: State prison pharmacies.

Who accepts: State prison pharmacies.

Donated to: Any patients in any state prison.

Restrictlons: The prescription drug should never have been in the possession of the patient to
whom it was originally prescribed. The prescription drug is returned in its original container. A
pharmacist determines that the prescription drug has not been adulterated or misbranded.
Program Status: Approved by governor 8/20/03.

What Rx: Cancer drugs or supplies.

Who can donate: Any person or entity.

Who accepts: Medical facilities or pharmacies that elects to participate in the program and
meets requirements specified by rule by the department.

Donated to: Individuals who meets eligibility criteria or to another eligible medical facility or
pharmacy for use under the program.

Restictions: The cancer drug or supplies needed to administer a cancer drug must be in it
original, unopened, sealed, and tamper-evident unit dose packaging or, if packaged in single-unit
doses, the single-unit-dose packaging must be unopened.

Program Status: Enacted April 6, 2004. What Rx: Expands Wisconsin's Rx recyciing cancer drug
repository to include prescription drugs and supplies for all sther chronic diseases such as
diabetes.

Program Status: Signed into law by governor as Act 16, 7/5/05.

What Rx; Prescription drugs.

Who can donate: Any person or entity, including but not fimited to a drug manufacturer,
ohysician or health care facility.

Who accepts: Any physician's office, a pharmacy or heaith care facility that elects o participate
in the program and meets criteria established by the department.

Donated to: VWoming residents.

Restrictions: Drugs shall be accepted or dispensed under the drug donation program only if
they are in their original, unopened, sealed packaging or, if the outside packaging is opened, the
contents are single unit doses that are individually contained in unopened, tamper evident
packaging.
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ngram Status: Signed by governor as Chapter 158, 3/2/05; Program currently operational,

Restricted Purpose State Programs or Policies

‘North Spgciﬁc guidelings are being developed for a drug repository/return program. ¢

Carollna

Oregon Repository not permitted. Return and reuse is permitled only in long-term-care pharmacies where
drugs have remained in the control of facility staff and are packaged in tamper-resistant containers.
]

3quth Repositery/donation not permitied. Return and reuse of medications are allowed with pharmacist's

Carclina professionaf judgment. ¢

Woest Virginia Return of unit-dosed non-controlled substance drugs allowed. +

Notes:
+ = Facts confirmed or obtained from Nationa! Association of Boards of Pharmacy: 2009 Survey of Pharmacy Law.

Definitions:

Controlled Substances: generally a drug or chemical whose manufacture, possession, and use are regulated by a
government, It may include illegai drugs and prescription medications. The federal goverment sets the standard for
controfled substances, states may modify regulation by, for example, requiring additional restrictions on certain
individual products. For complete lists, refer to the Controlied Substances Act and "Schedules | through V¥ detailed at
Sec. 812. Schedules of controiled substances, online at htip:/iwww.usdoj.gov/dea/pubs/csa/812 htmita

Legoend Drugs: any drug that requires a prescription. This may be a controlled substance (narcotic) or a non-
narcotic drug.

"APPENDIX A: ARTICLES OF INTEREST
"EPA lssues guidelines on proper drug disposal (Wednesday, September 8, 2010)

U.S. EPA released draft guidelines today for the proper disposal of unused pharmaceuticals by hospitals and other
health care facilities. The 43-page document describes techniques for redusing or avoiding pharmaceutical waste,
practices for identifying and managing types of unused pharmaceuticals, and applicable disposal regulations.

U.8. EPA released draft guidelines September 8, 2010 for the proper disposal of unused pharmaceuticals by
hospitals and other health care facilities. The 43-page document describes techniques for reducing or aveiding
pharmaceutical waste, practices for identifying and managing types of unused pharmaceuticals, and applicable
oisposal reguiations. EPA is seeking public comment on the draft until Nov. 8 and expects to publish a final draft later
in 2010.

Sewage- and water-treatment plants that are often located just up or downstream from one anather are generally not
equipped to bluck or filter frace concentrations of pharmaceuticals. Scientists fear such concentrations may have
long-term effects on people and animals, accounting in part for fish that have both male and female sex organs."All of
this stuff, this huge soup of pharmaceuticals, is ending up in our drinking water,” said Mae Wu, an attorney for the
nonprofit Natural Resources Defense Council. "What is the effect of faking these small doses every day? Who
knows?*

EPA has research under way to invesligate the health effects. Since 2008, EPA has launched or helped fund six
studies to better understand the sources and occurrence of pharmaceuticals in wastewater discharges, human waste
disposal and fish tissues. By focusing on health care facilities, the draft document concentrates on a single but
prolific source of drug waste.

The report includes recommendations for improving inventories, tightening purchasing and dispensing practices, and
arranging for the return, donation or segregation of unused drugs for proper disposal. Except in cases where state or
federal hazardous waste laws apply, the report generally recommends sending excess drugs to a reverse distributor
or otherwise segregating nonhazardous, noncontrolied drugs frorm other waste and sending them to a landfiil or
incinerator. Click here to read the draft.

‘' Kansas sets up program to redistribute unused meds
AP News: Kansas article, May 5, 2009

KANSAS CITY, Mo. {(AP) -- A new effort in Kansas to redirect some types of unused medications to safety net dlinics
is off to & slow start, but supporters are confident it will eventually benefit patients and the state.

Under a program approved by the Legislature in 2008, adult care homes, mail service pharmacies and medical care
facifities can donate unused prescription drugs to clinics and heaith centers that serve the uninsured and poor.

When the law took effect in January, the state joined at least 37 states with similar laws or programs, according to the
National Conference of State Legislatures. The organization and success of those programs vary widely. A program
started in Missouri in 2004 never got off the ground.

The Kansas program got its first denation in April, when Prescription Solutions of Qverland Park, a mail-order
pharmacy, gave about $250,000 of unused medicines that will eventually go to 36 clinics in 30 cities.

So far the focus has been on not!fymg quallﬁed donora and clmlcs and urgamzmg the logistits sau:i Rcben Stiles,
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director of primary care for the Kansas Depariment of Heaith and Environment. The state also is trying to arrange
clearinghouses where drugs could be stored.

"We are hearing a jot of interest,” Stiles said. *It's still early. But it's such a great idea, to use medicines that are
usually thrown away. | think it will be popular.”

Authors: Richard Cauchi, Program Director; Karmen Hanson, Program Manager; 2011-2012 revisions and updates
by Kara Hinkley, Research Analyst - for the NCSL Health Program, Denver.
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