
R156-55a-302b. Qualifications for Licensure - Experience Requirements. 
In accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(1)(e)(ii), the minimum experience requirements are 
established as follows: 

(I) Requirements for all license classifications: 

(2) 

(a) Unless otherwise provided in this rule, two years of experience shall be 
lawfully performed within the I 0-year period preceding the date of 
application under the general supervision of a contractor [licensed in the 
classification applied for or a substantially equivalent classification], and 
shall be subject to the following: 
(i) If the experience was completed in Utah, it shall be: 

(A) completed while a W-2 employee of a licensed contractor; 
or 

(B) completed while working as an owner of a licensed 
contractor, which has for all periods of experience claimed, 
employed a qualifier who performed the duties and served 
in the capacities specified in Subsection 58-55-304(4) and 
in Subsection RI 56-55a-304. 

(ii) If the experience was completed outside of the state of Utah, it 
shall be: 
(A) completed in compliance with the laws of the jurisdiction 

in which the experience is completed; and 
(B) completed with supervision that is substantially equivalent 

to the supervision that is required in Utah. 
(iii) Experience may be determined to be substantially equivalent if 

lawfully obtained in a setting which has supervision of qualified 
persons and an equivalent scope of work, such as performing 
construction activities in the military where licensure is not 
required. 

(b) [Unless otherwise provided in this rule, all e)(perience shall be directly 
related to the scope of practice set forth in Section R156 55a 301 of the 
classification the applicant is applying for, as determined by the Division.] 

[fe1] One year of work experience means 2000 hours. 

[t<lf] .(0 No more than 2000 hours of experience during any 12 month 
period may be claimed. 

[ftj]@ Except as described in Subsection (2)b, experience obtained under 
the supervision of a construction trades instructor as a part of an 
educational program is not qualifying experience for a contractors license. 

[ft)] @ If the applicant's qualifying experience is outdated but has 
previously been approved in the state of Utah, a passing score on the trade 
examination and the laws and rules examination obtained within the one­
year period preceding the date of application will requalify the applicant's 
expenence. 

Requirements for ElOO General Engineering, BlOO General Building, RlOO 
Residential and Small Commercial Building license classifications: 



(a) One of the required two years of experience shall be in a supervisory or 
managerial position. 

(b) A person holding a four year bachelors degree or a two year associates 
degree in Construction Management may have one year of experience 
credited towards the supervisory or managerial experience requirement. 

( c) A person holding a Utah professional engineer license may be credited 
with satisfying one year toward the supervisory or managerial experience 
required for E 100 contractor license. 

(3) Requirements for IIOl General Engineering Trades Instruction Facility, II02 
General Building Trades Instruction Facility, II 03 Electrical Trades Instruction 
Facility, II 04 Plumbing Trades Instruction Facility, II 05 Mechanical Trades 
Instruction Facility license classifications: 

An applicant for construction trades instruction facility license shall have 
the same experience that is required for the license classifications for the 
construction trade they will instruct. 

(4) Requirements for S202 Solar Photovoltaic Contractor. In addition to the 
requirements of Subsection (1), an applicant shall hold a current certificate by the 
North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners. 

(5) Requirements for S354 Radon Mitigation Contractor. In addition to the 
requirements of Subsection ( 1 ), an applicant shall hold a current certificate issued 
by the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB) or the National Radon Proficiency 
Program (NEHA-NRPP). Experience completed prior to the effective date of this 
rule does not need to be performed under the supervision of a licensed contractor. 
Experience completed after the effective date of this rule must be performed 
under the supervision of a licensed contractor who has authority to practice radon 
mitigation. 
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R156-55a-302f. Pre-Iicensure Education - Standards. 
(1) 

(2) 

(3) 

(4) 

Qualifier Education Requirement. The 20-hour pre-licensure education program 
required by Subsection 58-55-302(l)(e)(iii) shall be completed by the qualifier for 
a contractor applicant. 
Program Pre-Approval. A pre-licensure education provider shall submit an 
application for approval as a provider on the form provided by the Division. The 
applicant shall demonstrate compliance with Section Rl 56-55a-302f. 
Eligible Providers. The following may be approved to provide pre-licensure 
education: 
(a) a nationally or regionally recognized accredited college or university 

(b) 
having a physical campus located within the State of Utah; or 
a non-profit Utah construction trades association involved in the 
construction trades in the State of Utah representing multiple construction 
trade classifications whose membership includes at least 250 contractors 
licensed in Utah and have five years experience providing education to 
contractors in Utah. An association with less than 250 members may 
apply to be approved by the Commission provided they meet all other 
standards of this rule and is able to adequately demonstrate its 
competence. 

Content. The 20-hour program shall include the following topics and hours of 
education relevant to the practice of the construction trades consistent with the 
laws and rules of this state: 
(a) ten hours of financial responsibility instruction that includes the following: 

(b) 

(c) 

(i) record keeping and financial statements; 
(ii) payroll, including: 

(A) payroll taxes; 
(B) worker compensation insurance requirements; 
(C) unemployment insurance requirements; 
(D) professional employer organization (employee leasing) 

(E) 
alternatives; 
prohibitions regarding paying employees on 1099 forms as 
independent contractors, unless licensed or exempted; 

(F) employee benefits; and 
(G) Fair Labor Standard Act; 

(iii) cash flow; 
(iv) insurance requirements including auto, liability, and health; and 
(v) independent contractor licensure and exemption requirements; 
six hours of construction business practices that includes the following: 
(i) estimating and bidding; 
(ii) contracts; 
(iii) project management; 
(iv) subcontractors; and 
(v) suppliers; 
two hours of regulatory requirements that includes the following: 
(i) licensing laws; 
(ii) Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA); 



(iii) Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); and 
(iv) consumer protection laws; and 

(d) two hours of mechanic lien fundamentals that include the State 
Construction Registry. 

(5) Program Schedule. 
(a) A pre-licensure education provider shall offer programs at least 12 times 

per year. 
(b) The pre-licensure education provider is not obligated to provide a course if 

the provider determines the enrollment is not sufficient to reach breakeven 
on cost. 

(6) Program Instruction Requirements: The pre-licensure education shall meet the 
following standards: 
(a) Time. Each hour of pre-licensure education credit shall consist of 60 

minutes of education in the form of live lectures or training sessions. 
Time allowed for lunches or breaks may not be counted as part of the 
education time for which education credit is issued. 

(b) Learning Objectives. The learning objectives of the pre-licensure 
education shall be reasonably and clearly stated. 

(c) Teaching Methods. The pre-licensure education shall be presented in a 
competent and well organized manner consistent with the stated purpose 
and objective of the program. The student must demonstrate knowledge 
of the course material and must be given a pass/fail grade. 

(d) Faculty. The pre-licensure education shall be prepared and presented by 
individuals who are qualified by education, training or experience. 

( e) Distance Learning. Distance learning, internet courses, and home study 
courses are not allowed to meet pre-licensui'e education requirements. 

(t) Registration and Attendance. The provider shall have a competent method 
of registration and verification of attendance of individuals who complete 
the pre-licensure education. 

(g) Education Curriculum and Study/Resource Guide. The provider shall be 
responsible to provide or develop pre-licensure education curriculum and 
study/resource guide for the pre-licensure education that must be pre­
approved by the Commission and the Division prior to use by the 
provider. 

(h) Live Broadcast. The pre-licensure education course may be taught by live 
broadcast wherein the student and the instructor are at separate locations 
provided: 
(i) the student and the instructor are able to see and hear each other; 

and 
(ii) a representative of the provider is at any remote location to 

monitor registration and attendance at the course. 
(7) Certificates of Completion. The pre-licensure education provider shall 

provide individuals completing the pre-licensure education a certificate 
that contains the following information: 

(a) the date of the pre-licensure education; 
(b) the name of the pre-licensure education provider; 



( c) the attendee's name; 
( d) verification of completion of the 20-hour requirement; and 
(e) the signature of the pre-licensure education provider. 

(8) Reporting of Program Completion. A pre-licensure education provider shall, 
within seven calendar days, submit directly to the Division verification of 
attendance and completion on behalf of persons attending and completing the 
program. This verification shall be submitted on forms provided by the Division. 

(9) Program Monitoring. On a random basis, the Division or Commission may assign 
monitors at no charge to attend a pre-licensure education course for the purpose of 
evaluating the education and the instructor(s). 

( 10) Documentation Retention. Each provider shall for a period of four years maintain 
adequate documentation as proof of compliance with this section and shall, upon 
request, make such documentation available for review by the Division or the 
Commission. Documentation shall include: 
(a) the dates of all pre-licensure education courses that have been completed; 
(b) registration and attendance logs of individuals who completed the pre­

licensure education; 
( c) the name of instructors for each education course provided as a part of the 

program; and 
(d) pre-licensure education handouts and materials. 

(11) Disciplinary Proceedings. As provided in Section 58-1-401 and Subsection 58-
55-302(1)(e)(iii), the Division may refuse to renew or may revoke, suspend, 
restrict, place on probation, issue a public reprimand to, or otherwise act upon the 
approval of any pre-licensure education provider, if the pre-licensure education 
provider fails to meet any of the requirements of this section or the provider has 
engaged in other unlawful or unprofessional conduct. 

(12) Exemptions. In accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(1)(e)(iii), the following 
persons are not required to complete the pre-licensure education program 
requirements: 
(a) a person holding a four-year bachelor degree or a two-year associate 

degree in Construction Management from an accredited program; 
(b) a person holding an active and unrestricted Utah professional engineer 

license who is applying for the ElOO contractor license classification; or 
( c) a person who is a qualifier on an active and unrestricted contractor license 

and who became the qualifier on the license on or before October 9, 2014 
who is: 
(i) applying to add additional contractor classifications to the license; 

or 
(ii) applying to become a qualifier on a new entity that is applying for 

initial licensure. 
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Dan S. Jones <dansjones@utah.gov>

Contractor Insurance
2 messages

Taz Biesinger <tazbiesinger@gmail.com> Thu, Jan 22, 2015 at 6:21 PM
To: Dan Jones <DanSJones@utah.gov>, Ross Ford <rosskford@gmail.com>

R156-55a-302d

1)  In accordance with the provisions of Subsection 58-55-302(2)(b), an applicant who is approved for licensure
shall submit proof of public liability insurance in coverage amounts of at least $100,000, for each incident and
$300,000 in total by means of a certificate of insurance naming the Division as a certificate holder.

2)  The public liability insurance coverage required under Subsection 58-55--302(2)(b), and subsection (1) above,
shall not exempt from coverage any area of construction within the scope of practice for the license held.

3)  Failing to provide upon request a copy of the public liability insurance policy and/or any exclusions included
with the policy, to the Division or a upper tier contractor is unprofessional conduct.

Taz Biesinger <tazbiesinger@gmail.com> Thu, Jan 22, 2015 at 7:00 PM
To: Dan Jones <DanSJones@utah.gov>, Ross Ford <rosskford@gmail.com>

There are a lot of variables that contribute to the ultimate cost of an insurance policy, but assuming an average
contractor with 10 employees, he could see an increase of $150-200, per year.

Thanks, Taz
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